Plantation Barbados 5-Year rum

Plantation Barbados 5-Year

France | Aged

Plantation Barbados 5-Year rum is distilled from molasses and aged 5 years in bourbon casks before being transported to France for further 'finishing' in Cognac casks.

Plantation rum is owned by the French company Cognac Ferrand, which was founded in 1989 and produces wine, gin, and other spirits to sell in over 40 countries. The Plantation range includes 7 vintages from different Caribbean countries and 3 blends of multiple regions.

7.1/10
447 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
6
20
63
180
144
24
7

Rate Plantation Barbados 5-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

447 Plantation Barbados 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 4 years ago by Bill 🇬🇧 | 92 ratings

Sweet pineapple on the nose, medium bodied vanilla and a touch of caramel and oak on the palate. Unfortunately there's quite a 'fresh' sugar taste, as if someone has added it to my glass. Just about good enough to sip neat.

Posted over 6 years ago by Tommy 🇺🇸 | 12 ratings

If you don't feel like gambling upwards of $50 on the XO 20th, buy this first. If you like, get the 20th expecting it to be about 3x better.

This 5 year, however, need to apologize to no one. Well-crafted, sippable indulgence and broad appeal to anyone who might enjoy rums to the plus side of moderately sweet, without being a raging sugar bomb. Tropical fruit galore with subtle spice to balance...

Another in my 'stupid good' category.

Posted over 6 years ago by Andreas Lindholm 🇸🇪 | 5 ratings

This may not be the best rum if you look at quality.... but when you look at the price its easily the one with most value.

Mature and sweet notes combined.

Posted almost 7 years ago by Marty 🇺🇸 | 102 ratings

This stays on the top of my bar and available at all times. It it one of my favorites and better than many of my rums that cost me 2-3 times the price. It might be closer to a 7 for most, but the price and the availability give it a nudge up in my book. Rare, expensive, limited edition rums should be expected to rate in the 9-10 range.

Posted over 6 years ago by Nordicrum 🇸🇪 | 22 ratings

Perhaps one of the better rums in its price level. Sweet, but also with a bit of a alcohol bite. Still, nicely balanced.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Chris 🇺🇸 | 2 ratings

I'm a wimp. I gag a bit when I drink most rums straight and my benchmark for a superb rum is one like this. It goes down like silk, very sweet and smooth with a tasty vanilla flavor. This is definitely in my top 10 rums

Posted over 3 years ago by RumRunner 🇺🇸 | 1 rating

Excellent Rum taste with a whiskey like character. Not overly sweet but lots of flavor elements like vanilla and age oak. No burn going down but a pleasant exotic Cognac finish. I enjoy it alone either neat or with a little ice but it also mixes well.

Posted over 5 years ago by Keith Brockmiller 🇺🇸 | 26 ratings

This was a pleasant surprise, given to me by a fellow rum lover. If you loved the 20th anniversary edition as much as me, this is definitely worth a taste, at less than half the price. Its got that yummy coconut nose, and the hint of vanilla sweetness just like it's older brother. This is good for everyday sipping, and sharing, while the 20th anniversary you would save (hide) for special occasions/ special friends. Or just for yourself.

Posted 6 years ago by James 🇺🇸 | 19 ratings

This is the perfect mixing rum. It's like the 2001 Barbados only lighter. When I mixed it with cola, its' flavours are all still present and very noticeable but don't overpower the drink (unless you over-pour).

Smell: Hot/Warm light butterscotch and banana,
same with the taste, but are very light flavours and a good warming finish on the back of the throat.

Posted 5 years ago by DiNiko 🇬🇷 | 41 ratings

Having already tasted the xo edition, which ranks on top of my list, it's really hard to settle for anything less, especially when the word "plantation" is present in the name.
By any means though, I expected it to be nothing less than good.
And that's exactly what this fellow is.
In the first place, alcohol presence is dominant over the glass. The rum itself feels quite smooth in the mouth. Medium sweetness followed by well rounded vanilla aromas. Molasses are also present in every sip. Well balanced in every aspect. Lacks the richness of a premium but it is a total winner in the category "value for money".
Do not hesitate to try.

Posted over 5 years ago by Rene Rum (PREMIUM) 🇨🇭 | 494 ratings

Schmeckt erwachsen für sein Alter.
Leicht und unbeschwert in der Nase und Gaumen.
Im Vordergrund dominante Vanillearomen gefolgt von Karamell und Früchten.
Abgang ganz ok.
Ein Rum für alle Tage. Nicht zu süss.

Tastes great for his age.
Easy and carefree in the nose and palate.
In the foreground dominant vanilla aromas followed by caramel and fruit.
Finish quite ok.
A rum for all days. Not too sweet.




Brand Details

Name: Barbados 5-Year
Company: Plantation
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 5
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2886
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
559
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
544
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
513