Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Plantation Barbados 5-Year rum

Plantation Barbados 5-Year

ST
TJ
had this rum recently

Multiple | Aged | 40% ABV | Pot and Column Still

Plantation Barbados 5-Year rum is distilled from molasses and aged 5 years in bourbon casks before being transported to France for further 'finishing' in Cognac casks.

Plantation rum is owned by the French company Cognac Ferrand, which was founded in 1989 and produces wine, gin, and other spirits to sell in over 40 countries. The Plantation range includes 7 vintages from different Caribbean countries and 3 blends of multiple regions.

7.1/10
536 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
8
27
76
214
170
29
7

Rate Plantation Barbados 5-Year

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

536 Plantation Barbados 5-Year Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Nicolas Dufort 🇨🇦 | 19 ratings
Posted 7 years ago

Très bon et abordable avec des notes de cassonade un de mes préféré plantation jusqu'à date !

Tommy 🇺🇸 | 12 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

If you don't feel like gambling upwards of $50 on the XO 20th, buy this first. If you like, get the 20th expecting it to be about 3x better.

This 5 year, however, need to apologize to no one. Well-crafted, sippable indulgence and broad appeal to anyone who might enjoy rums to the plus side of moderately sweet, without being a raging sugar bomb. Tropical fruit galore with subtle spice to balance...

Another in my 'stupid good' category.

Andreas Lindholm 🇸🇪 | 5 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

This may not be the best rum if you look at quality.... but when you look at the price its easily the one with most value.

Mature and sweet notes combined.

Chris 🇺🇸 | 2 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

I'm a wimp. I gag a bit when I drink most rums straight and my benchmark for a superb rum is one like this. It goes down like silk, very sweet and smooth with a tasty vanilla flavor. This is definitely in my top 10 rums

Nordicrum 🇸🇪 | 22 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Perhaps one of the better rums in its price level. Sweet, but also with a bit of a alcohol bite. Still, nicely balanced.

Marty 🇺🇸 | 102 ratings
Posted 9 years ago

This stays on the top of my bar and available at all times. It it one of my favorites and better than many of my rums that cost me 2-3 times the price. It might be closer to a 7 for most, but the price and the availability give it a nudge up in my book. Rare, expensive, limited edition rums should be expected to rate in the 9-10 range.

SteveP 🇺🇸 | 8 ratings
Posted 9 months ago

This is one of my favorite Rums and beats most everything I've tasted under $40 a bottle except for maybe Kaniche XO.

RumRunner 🇺🇸 | 1 rating
Posted over 5 years ago

Excellent Rum taste with a whiskey like character. Not overly sweet but lots of flavor elements like vanilla and age oak. No burn going down but a pleasant exotic Cognac finish. I enjoy it alone either neat or with a little ice but it also mixes well.

Rene Rum (PREMIUM) 🇨🇭 | 547 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Schmeckt erwachsen für sein Alter.
Leicht und unbeschwert in der Nase und Gaumen.
Im Vordergrund dominante Vanillearomen gefolgt von Karamell und Früchten.
Abgang ganz ok.
Ein Rum für alle Tage. Nicht zu süss.

Tastes great for his age.
Easy and carefree in the nose and palate.
In the foreground dominant vanilla aromas followed by caramel and fruit.
Finish quite ok.
A rum for all days. Not too sweet.

Keith Brockmiller 🇺🇸 | 27 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

This was a pleasant surprise, given to me by a fellow rum lover. If you loved the 20th anniversary edition as much as me, this is definitely worth a taste, at less than half the price. Its got that yummy coconut nose, and the hint of vanilla sweetness just like it's older brother. This is good for everyday sipping, and sharing, while the 20th anniversary you would save (hide) for special occasions/ special friends. Or just for yourself.

James 🇺🇸 | 19 ratings
Posted 8 years ago

This is the perfect mixing rum. It's like the 2001 Barbados only lighter. When I mixed it with cola, its' flavours are all still present and very noticeable but don't overpower the drink (unless you over-pour).

Smell: Hot/Warm light butterscotch and banana,
same with the taste, but are very light flavours and a good warming finish on the back of the throat.




Brand Details

Type: Aged
Company: Plantation
Country: Multiple
ABV: 40%
Name: Barbados 5-Year
Years Aged: 5
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Unknown
Distillation: Pot and Column Still
Women Led: No
1. Chips Liquor
2. Chips Liquor
3. Luxurious Drinks
4. Total Wine
5. Total Wine
6. Total Wine
Loading...