Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate 15-Year rum

Appleton Estate 15-Year

Jamaica | Aged

7.1/10
26 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
9
10
1

Rate Appleton Estate 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

26 Appleton Estate 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by don from Canada with 12 ratings

I like it , but the price is a bit steep. Special 12 year blend is better for the price

Posted 3 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 200 ratings

Appleton 15 yr

This is my fourth try with Appleton Rum, having previously tried and very much disliked Appleton Signature Blend, Appleton VX and Appleton 12 yr old rums. Appleton 15 yr Rum is currently only available in Canada and I decided to give Appleton rum one more shot. Glad I did as I really enjoy this rum which, in my opinion, has a completely different taste than the previous three. This rum is not as “funky” as the other ones and very dry, which is how I like my rum. I had previously rated the previous three Appleton a “3” but this one is certainly much better and deserve a higher rating.

My first positive experience with an Appleton offering. Will now consider spending more to acquire an older version from the Appleton distillery,

Well done!

Posted 1 year ago by Neman3 from Canada with 135 ratings

It is in different league than 12yo Rare blend - not that chunky and not that "super tasty".
It is in different league than 21yo - no smoke no oak.
This is exceptional, unique* drink which will be hard to skip. Dry, a bit spicy, not very complex, but pleasant taste which refers to the Appleton class.
Cons: a bit strange, aggressive on the nose.
_________________________________
*Reminds me MG Master Select )

Posted over 1 year ago by Nerl from Canada with 11 ratings

I like it, I couldn't believe the difference from the regular rum, well done.

Posted 3 months ago by jwevenson (PREMIUM) from United States with 7 ratings

It's difficult to tell the difference between the 15 year and 12 year. I suggest purchasing a bottle of each and try one shot of each. Mixes well with diet coke and/or diet A&W Root beer.

Posted 12 months ago by VikingXO from Denmark with 163 ratings

I expected it would be a bit more deep and smooth. Some worked well, and other didn’t.
In overall I think the nose is okay. I sense the Appleton notes, but the flavor is not as deep and smooth as expected. Good way to start if you want to challenge your sweet rum tooth.

Posted over 1 year ago by Mathieu from Canada with 55 ratings

Typical Appleton style. Rich and complex. Overly bitter, too much to ignore (higher alcohols?).

Well-aged but flawed.

Posted over 1 year ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 516 ratings

- vůně nasládlá, jemné mléčné karamelky, závan dřevitosti, vanilka, mix bylinek
- chuť kopíruje vůní, ty mléčné karamelky jsou velmi příjemné, o proti AE 12 už sladší, méně Jamajská, více do AE 21

Posted 3 years ago by Tim from Canada with 73 ratings

Classic Jamaican sipper yes, but does it bring much more to the table than the Appleton 12???

Posted 3 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 206 ratings

Sugar estimated at 5 GPL. This rum has the traditional Appleton profile of oak and spice with some sweetness factor. However, just as Joola69 pointed out it has a strong alcohol aroma and is very dry. It starts out like other Appleton Rums but falls off quickly as it has a long afterburn from the alcohol factor. The "burn" is controlled and balanced but I found the rum is a bit harsh.
I didn't like it straight up as it is quite harsh, but it will make an okay but expensive mixer. Overall I would buy the Appleton 12 as has more flavour and is smoother.

Posted 19 days ago by Rcbobs from New Zealand with 14 ratings

This rum has notes of spicy marmalade on the nose, and is a light amber in colour. Overall this comes across as the lightest in the Appleton range and is much more similar to the 8 year than its 12 year counterpart. It lacks the complexity of flavour that the 21 year. This would appeal to those who like a drier rum.