Veritas White rum

Veritas White

Barbados | Light | 47.0% ABV | Pot and Column Still Distilled

7.8/10
44 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
5
6
20
10
1

Rate Veritas White

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

44 Veritas White ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

JackOrion 🇺🇸 | 61 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

First impression on the nose was big pineapple and then cola. A little funk and heat bites the nostrils. Bottled at 47% which in my rum book is a big plus!!
Sipping it neat I was surprised at the mouth feel. Almost borderline syrup thick, like a liqueur. BUT!! it’s dry. Not sugary or sweet but a wonderful agricole grass note along with tropical fruits.
Lively finish from the heat.
I’m extremely happy to come across this and four square really doesn’t put out poor rum. This is yet another winner. If you haven’t tried it yet, do! Make a Chief Lapu Lapu with it, or sip it on ice or neat.... it’s fantastic

sebastospud 🇺🇸 | 16 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Sipping, just great with a lot of pineapple and bananas on the nose, along with burnt caramel. Then on the palate, bananas, funk, anise, and some cedar or pencil shavings. A bit hot at first, but, really lovely to hang out with for a while.

Martin Kennedy 🇦🇺 | 237 ratings
Posted 3 months ago

From the two of my favourite distilleries so no real surprise how much I enjoyed this rum. Straw coloured in the glass , slight nail polish vapours but soon clear to fruit. Very fruity in the mouth , love it.. pineapple , banana and a bit of wood. Sips beautifully with an ice cube and makes a very good mixer. Just real rum with no added extras , highly recommend.

Rasmus 🇩🇰 | 149 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

I got the opportunity to attend a rum tasting with Daniele Biondi from Velier were we tasted 9 different rums. This was the first rum of the night, which we tasted both on its own, but also in a daiquiri. If you need the perfect rum for the latter, then look no further. This rum is a blend of rums from Hampden in Jamaica and Foursquare in Barbados.

Nose: Natural smell of sugarcanes, lime and a grassy backbone
Taste: A very vibrant taste of molasses, banana, lime, grass and a small hint of spice
Overall: I was very surprised by the richness of this white-ish rum. It is already great as a sipper, but it truly comes to shine in a daiquiri. If you like your basic rum cocktails to actually taste like rum (and why wouldn´t you), then this is the rum for you.

Andzin (PREMIUM) 🇨🇿 | 78 ratings
Posted 4 months ago

Even considering this was made for mixure I did not find much interesting. On the nose the smell is kind of limet inside tonic. The taste is fruity and limet but it is kind of I do not prefer. It is not problem that is dry but it does not add any more flavor if you give it into coctail. It is kind of vodka ... almost no smell and very little taste... but there are also goid and bad vidkas:) for me its 6+

jepoycat 🇵🇭 | 31 ratings
Posted 11 months ago

You can't expect anything less from Foursquare and Hampden rums, even in their entry level bottlings. Overripe bananas, wet soil, star anise, fresh white peppercorn, roasted pineapple, and coconut! Marketed as a mixing rum and it really does shine: probably the best daiquiri I've tried with this as the base!

wayoutwest 🇬🇧 | 73 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Popped the cork, and straight away - wow, that's what I've been looking for. Bit of funk, and complexity that straight away got me excited to try new rums, particularly the Foursquare and Hampdens that this us made of.
And for all of that, I will be eternally thankful for.

But now, finishing off the bottle, and having tasted Foursquare and Hampden, and clairins too - it makes for a tasty mojito, but back to back, Rum Fire is an 8, Diplomatico Planas is a 7, so this can't be higher than a 6

Hey, it's tasty, and dry, and there's a richness in there too. It's well balanced, and I can't believe anyone would be disappointed, but..... there's just tastier options out there.

Just a thought - shouldn't Veritas and Probitas be merged - after all, it's the same rum, just a different name.

Rudi 🇵🇱 | 11 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

A combination of high-ester Jamaican rum with milder foursquare column-distilled rums, this rum provides a very nice nose with fruity touches that remind you of a nice wine. You need to feel the aroma for a while before the Jamaican funk comes to the front. Then come some wood at the end.
On the palate the story is very different: it burns like you would expect from an un-dossed, non-aged rum and it leaves a dry, slightly bitter aftertaste.
It was conceived as a mixer, with a price/image/quality to match, so I would say that seeing it under this concept (instead of comparing it to other more premium rums) the product is outstanding. 9/10

Mr.B 🇬🇧 | 70 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

When Vellier, Hampden & Foursquare collaborate to bring you a new blend of white rum you can bet ya it will be setting a new benchmark.

Veritas, or in the US named Probitas, is a blend of white rums of the Foursquare Distillery, Barbados, and Hampden, Jamaica. It’s a blend of three rums in all. Containing un-aged pot from Hampden. Un-aged from Foursquare’s twin column Coffey still and Foursquare’s aged pot still (2 years). There is no info on how much of each is in the blend however Mr. Seale in his usual cryptic way did disclose that there is “a lot of the un-aged and a little of the aged” in the blend.

Bottled at 47% it has a very light straw appearance. Aromas of light vegetal, citrus, sweet cane, pastry, exotic fruits. I love the aroma and can’t help myself to have a sniff every time I pass this bottle. You can easily drink this neat but it really is made for cocktails.

This is not a Jamaican funk high ester bomb. The notes are more subtle and in harmony with each other. Suggest you use this in classic spirit forward drinks. This makes an amazing Daiquiri.

My new favourite cocktail ingredient

BarTraveller 🇵🇱 | 15 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

The truth is simple. Very good rum for coctails and solo

bar la moura 🇭🇷 | 143 ratings
Posted 8 months ago

this rum is designed as a mixer, good proof, the daiquiri we make with it is called jabon candado
i see same rum with another name, Probitas, interesting fact




Brand Details

Name: White
Company: Veritas
Type: Light
Distillation: Pot and Column Still
ABV: 47.0%

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading