Foursquare 2005 12-Year rum

Foursquare 2005 12-Year

Barbados | Aged | 59.0% ABV | Pot and Column Still Distilled

8.5/10
64 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
7
18
23
13

Rate Foursquare 2005 12-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

64 Foursquare 2005 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jaybird 🇺🇸 | 48 ratings

This is my second experience with Foursquare and the first was near perfect with the Zinfandel Cask being one of the best rums I've ever had.
Fresh from the bottle it's very warm on the nose but after sitting for only 5 minutes or so it mellows and soft oak, vanilla and spicy hints start to sneak out.
My first tastes are neat in a snifter. A perception of light sweetness upfront. Warming alcohol and drying oak followed by wisps of vanilla, toffee and is that citrus? or dried fruit? I don't get the chocolate that some seem to sense. It's warm but not too hot and it's smooth for 59%. This tastes like rum. It's oaky character may seem bourbon-like but I think the oak confuses some as most bourbon is very oaky. The molasses hints are down in there.
Added a single ice cube to a full jigger and after a minute or two it really smooths out. Vanilla and orange start to peep out and molasses sweetness shows up upfront. Still drying oak and very smooth long finish. I think the ice and dilution simplifies the complexity of the rum but it does make it a bit smoother to those put off by the high proof.
This is an amazing rum! Probably not a favorite of those who like sweet but they should give it a fair try. It's amazing! As with my rating of the Zinfandel Cask I hesitate to give anything a 10 but this is just about as good as it gets!

Posted over 3 years ago by Jason 🇺🇸 | 59 ratings

...This bottle definitely would have gone home with me. High ABV meant it certainly packed a punch, but had a really smooth finish with a complex flavor profile. Definitely a nice sipper especially as the weather starts to cool down.

Posted over 1 year ago by IBO 🇸🇰 | 193 ratings

Zatiaľ sa mi páči v sérii FQ najviac. Krásne uhladený na to,že je v sudovej sile. Užíval som si tu plnosť,každý kúsok. Plný drevitych tov a zaroven cítiť čokoládu a mal som pocit,že slivky. Príjemná zadymenost, perfekt.

Posted 1 year ago by vomi1011 🇩🇪 | 396 ratings

Foursquare 2005 Review
Number VI in the ECS series 2005 with 59% and a quantity of 12,000. A blend of pot and traditional column distillation. The rum is tropical matured in bourbon barrels for 12 years. The release was published in October 2017.

Smell: Very aromatic smell of caramel sweetness, dried fruits and herbs. Clearly one of the better bottlings. The flavors are beautifully balanced. There are also barrel aromas, tannins and vanilla.
Bourbon flavors are also easily noticeable. A nice, if not a very complex smell.

Taste: The rum starts with tannins, wood varnish and caramel sweetness. It is slightly bitter at the beginning, which gets better after several sips. I still notice dried fruit before it gets dry in the middle. The barrel aromas emerge, with oak and vanilla. There is a nice caramel sweetness over everything.
The finish is long and spicy with barrel aromas, vanilla and dried fruits.

Aftertaste: caramel sweetness, oak, herbs and dried fruits. The mouth feel remains dry.

This is a very good ECS release, unfortunately it is not as complex as e.g. the Sassafras but still pretty good. The somewhat stronger aromas such as leather are missing. The tannins are quite present, but the balance is still pretty good.

Overall rating: 88 points

Sweetness: 2/5
Fruit: 3.5 / 5
Spie: 3/5
Complexity: 3.5 / 5
Value (89 €): 4/5

Posted over 3 years ago by Joola69 🇺🇸 | 2923 ratings

Enjoyed two glasses of Foursquare 2005 Barbados rum with my friend during a 5,000 mile road trip across 18 States. Bottle and label design looks nice and old school. Golden amber color. Very strong oak and wood from the Bourbon barrel aging straight to your nose and palate. Strong burn at the end. Whisky lovers can add 2 points to the score.

Posted over 1 year ago by RumGuy1 🇺🇸 | 54 ratings

Beautiful hints of coconut and banana, spicy white pepper, ginger, and nutmeg. Has a balanced sweetness with medium legs. Great sipper but its too hot fot me. I needed to water it down with ice. If you dont like bourbon, this isnt for you. Most foursquare rums have a distinctive bourbon influence.

Posted over 1 year ago by Simon Stood 🇺🇦 | 9 ratings

Чтобы раскрыть аромат, нужно дать определённое время подышать. Достаточно крепкий (64.4%), но во вкусе не настолько крепкий, как указано на этикетке. Мало сладкий. По впечатлению выдержанный менее 12 лет, возможно из-за недостаточно длительного послевкусия

Posted over 1 year ago by filipec 🇨🇿 | 250 ratings

taste - 10/10
smell - 10/10
sweetness - 7.5/10
price/value rating - 8.5/10

Posted almost 2 years ago by Loxias 🇨🇿 | 170 ratings

On first touch strong bite in the mouth felt like cinnamon. In mouth it feels full and woody.
Finish is long sweet with vanilla and hints of smoke.

Posted almost 2 years ago by 5xo (PREMIUM) 🇸🇰 | 290 ratings

What a unique character. The nose is big in apricot as if you opened a fresh bottle of Fanta. It is a mystery how thing like this can exist and without any additives. For experienced drinker though, 59 abv is serious.

Posted almost 2 years ago by GeistHunter 🇩🇪 | 2 ratings

The smell is clean, and the mouth feels strong in fat. The smell is full of caramel, vanilla, fruit. Even the original barrel strength is very smooth to drink, the finish is smooth and clean, and it is more elegant after adding water. What impressed me the most was the sudden burst of thick creamy vanilla after 5 seconds of swallowing. It was very pleasant and worth trying.




Brand Details

Name: 2005 12-Year
Company: Foursquare
Type: Aged
Distillation: Pot and Column Still
ABV: 59.0%
Aged: 12
Distilled: 2005
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Professional Reviews

Articles

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2923
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
559
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
546
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
514