Foursquare 2008 Premise 10-Year rum

Foursquare 2008 Premise 10-Year

Barbados | Aged | 46.0% ABV | Pot and Column Still Distilled

8.2/10
84 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
13
37
24
7

Rate Foursquare 2008 Premise 10-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

84 Foursquare 2008 Premise 10-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Micmac 🇨🇦 | 6 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

I bought a bottle to see what all the Foursquare fuss was about. I got into rum with the sweet stuff and loved it. When I tried this my initial reaction was regret. Second time I drank it I still had regret. I had read somewhere about how to breath out when you sip stronger spirits. Thrid time drinking it, hmmm, this is pretty tasty. Fourth time, maybe I should get another bottle before they run out. Now I don't enjoy the sweet stuff as much. Give this some time and it might grow in you !

Eidolon (TASTING CLUB) 🇺🇸 | 51 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Vanilla, oak, sherry, and brown sugar on the nose. Very smooth drinking with some of the sherry coming though to pair off with the vanilla.

Jagsroy (PREMIUM) 🇨🇦 | 256 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

Foursquare Premise (46% ABV)

Sample night, on to my third sample of the night (thanks to Francois Lapointe), sorry, still day time…lol.
Foursquare produces many of my favourite rums. In spite of the lower ABV this rum is very good indeed. Natural sweetness and a good addition to any rum bar/collection. I do like this rum but have been spoiled with better offering from Mr. Seale. Nevertheless I am glad I had the occasion to sample this.

Steffmaus (TASTING CLUB) 🇩🇰 | 60 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Has a sweetness over it, despite no added sugar. Round and powerful taste. Notes of dried fruits, coconut and pineapple

RumGuy1 🇺🇸 | 54 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Sherry, vanilla, oaky, smooth, fruity, and spicy notes on the palate. Very Complex.

Alan 🇺🇸 | 89 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Delicious, rich, and complex. Oak tannins don't overpower the delicate flavors. Notes of butterscotch, vanilla, citrus shine with hints of chocolate.

MXglenn 🇧🇪 | 3 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

As a sherried whisky fan i had to try this and i was not dissapointed. Fruity, not too much oak. If this was a constant release i would buy this again and again. In my top 5 rums ever for sure.

Russ 🇺🇸 | 119 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

I loved everything about this bottle, starting with the nose that is both fruity and spicy. The first taste had a little more strength than I was expecting but it only added to the complexity of the rum. Taste of spice, fruit and wine all came shining through on subsequent tastes. This is easily one of Foursquare's best "sipping" rums. If I had anything negative to say is that it was a little more expensive than their previous "exceptional casks series" but I think that was more the liquor store's fault than the distillers. Trust me, if you can find a bottle buy it quickly!

RonRumHead (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 33 ratings
Posted 6 months ago

The better Foursquare’s (2005, 2006, 2007+) really hit you hard in the wallet.

Supply & Demand comes into play. 2005 was the first ever rum to win The Supreme Champion at the International Spirits Challenge in London in ‘18. There were only so many bottles made. I know in 2019 my rum buddy in Barbados said you couldn’t buy a bottle there - all sold out.

Enter Premise. It’s good and it was between $50-60 US … far lower than many of its siblings.

And it is a great sipper. The sherry casking for cuts the natural and/bourbon oak flavor. It’s not as sweet as Diplomatico, but it is sweeter than other Foursquares (not counting their horrible spiced rum).

I definitely recommend this as an “every now and again treat.” You won’t be sorry.

Teomarg 🇬🇷 | 8 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Delicious stuff.. Very nice palate long after taste..

vomi1011 🇩🇪 | 397 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

A ten year old Foursquare that has been matured for three years in ex-bourbon and seven years in ex-sherry casks. A blend of rums, distilled in the classic pot still and traditional double-column still.

Smell: At first it is a little thin in smell, it has a strong sherry touch. You can smell dried fruits, some rubber, light wood and vanilla. Unfortunately, diluting it to 46% took away some of the flavors. A bourbon barrel and diluted burnt sugar can be noticed on the nose.
I smell cherries, pomegranate. Not very complex due to the dilution unfortunately.

Taste: It starts with a light wood sweetness from the bourbon wood. This is followed by sherry aromas in the form of red dried fruits and some gum. The sharpness increases, light wood and vanilla reappear.
The rum becomes warm and dark barrel aromas with burnt sugar flood the mouth, it becomes dry.
It goes with sharpness in the finish, dark wooden barrel aromas, wood, burnt sugar and dried fruits with a little gum are there again.

Aftertaste: dried fruit, some bourbon flavors, diluted burnt sugar

A decent Foursquare, the dilution is noticeable, which is not very bad in this case.
Hardly any tannins can be tasted. It is not among the best bottlings.

Overall rating: 83 points

Sweetness: 1.5 / 5
Fruit: 3/5
Spice: 2.5 / 5
Value (50 €): 4/5




Brand Details

Name: 2008 Premise 10-Year
Company: Foursquare
Type: Aged
Distillation: Pot and Column Still
ABV: 46.0%
Aged: 10
Distilled: 2008

Loading

Professional Reviews

Articles

Loading

Loading