Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa Ambar 12 rum

Ron Zacapa Ambar 12

Guatemala | Aged

6.2/10
31 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
6
12
8
4

Rate Ron Zacapa Ambar 12

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

31 Ron Zacapa Ambar 12 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 0ba1f782 a36e 48ea 98c9 7e562942bb41

Posted 10 months ago by filipec from Czech Republic with 177 ratings

taste - 5/10
smell - 5.5/10
sweetness - 7/10
price/value rating - 6/10

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Tarek Ronaldo from Chile with 4 ratings

Delicate aroma. It tasted half the way between a rum and brandy. Very soft flavor.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by kudzey (TASTING CLUB) from Poland with 30 ratings

Surprisingly light colour, indeed like an amber. Fresh, delicate and pleasant aroma with almost no alcohol feeling. Wooden and dry taste, nicely balanced with dry aftertaste. This one constitutes a benchmark for what a basic rum should be like. It is, however, quite flat and does not offer any extraordinary experience. Defenetely, the taste is too dilluted and watery, it could be richer. I usually drink this one after tasting a new rum for a comparison.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 102 ratings

Purchased at a Duty Free shop. I didn't know Zacapa even made this version. Purchased 1 ltr for 33 EU. Is lighter in coplor than the other Zacapas. Slightly stronger aroma. Sligfhtly lioghter on the tongue, and slight burn on finish. Nice, but I probably would not repurchase.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by jfmurcia from Colombia with 59 ratings

Unfortunately for this rum, I had the El Dorado 15-yr before having this one. In mouth you can taste the alcohol and the after burn is tough (maybe mixed with something will taste great). In nose the alcohol stood out too. It is a very different rum compared to the other Zacapa rums.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by cK from Canada with 65 ratings

Found this as a new offering at SFO Duty Free. Versatile - can be used as a top notch mixer or a low-end sipper with more burn than the Zacapa 23. Similar to El Dorado 12 that way. Will have to do the Pepsi Challenge between the two someday...

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Alas from Puerto Rico with 106 ratings

So yeah basically zacapa 23 taste with a younger rum burn, dry finish, and a touch of white wine finish (think santa teresa or appleton 12 regarding burn). I only drink rum neat, so I’m sure it would be great for drink mixers, but I personally like the burn rum gives so it merits a high 7 rounded up because there are no half points

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2839 ratings

Last drink for tonight while chilling out in Zihuatanejo was a Ron Zacapa Ambar 12y Solera. Pretty nice bottle and label design. Golden color. Surpringly dry rum for a Zacapa. Usually they are laced with added sugar. Its like a mellow dry whiskylike rum. I just wish this would be a proper 12y old rum, and not the Solera method, then it could be so much better.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Michael from United States with 12 ratings

Ron Zacapa Ámbar 12 yr Sistema Solera.

Saw this one hiding in mexico and had to take it home with me.

Quick review:

Light amber almost buttery color.
On the nose- dried fruit, banana and citrus.
First sip- smooth, little to no burn to speak of. The taste is very similar to the nose with the addition of a faint whiskey and wine flavor. The finish is a bit dry with not much kick on the back end and finally oak on the exhale. Solid sipper but I think this would be excellent with a cocktail.
If you find a bottle I recommend giving it a go! You won't be upset!

Na zdrowie! 🥃😁✌

Ffffff

Posted 28 days ago by Mikael Vejdemo-Johansson from Sweden with 12 ratings

Excellent amber rum, my go-to for mixed drinks nowadays.

Small img 20211007 212455

Posted 3 months ago by SPEHUN from Hungary with 37 ratings

A zacapa belépő rumja, ismerkedésnek tökéletes megfelelő.