Ron Zacapa Ambar 12 rum

Ron Zacapa Ambar 12

Guatemala | Aged

6.3/10
34 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
6
12
11
4

Rate Ron Zacapa Ambar 12

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

34 Ron Zacapa Ambar 12 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 2 years ago by Andrรกs Pรฉter Balogh ๐Ÿ‡ญ๐Ÿ‡บ | 41 ratings

Round in its own way and appreciable rum, but considering that it belongs to the Zacapa brand, one would expect more

Posted over 1 year ago by Tarek Ronaldo ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฑ | 4 ratings

Delicate aroma. It tasted half the way between a rum and brandy. Very soft flavor.

Posted almost 2 years ago by kudzey (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ฑ | 38 ratings

Surprisingly light colour, indeed like an amber. Fresh, delicate and pleasant aroma with almost no alcohol feeling. Wooden and dry taste, nicely balanced with dry aftertaste. This one constitutes a benchmark for what a basic rum should be like. It is, however, quite flat and does not offer any extraordinary experience. Defenetely, the taste is too dilluted and watery, it could be richer. I usually drink this one after tasting a new rum for a comparison.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Herman ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 103 ratings

Purchased at a Duty Free shop. I didn't know Zacapa even made this version. Purchased 1 ltr for 33 EU. Is lighter in coplor than the other Zacapas. Slightly stronger aroma. Sligfhtly lioghter on the tongue, and slight burn on finish. Nice, but I probably would not repurchase.

Posted almost 3 years ago by jfmurcia ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ด | 59 ratings

Unfortunately for this rum, I had the El Dorado 15-yr before having this one. In mouth you can taste the alcohol and the after burn is tough (maybe mixed with something will taste great). In nose the alcohol stood out too. It is a very different rum compared to the other Zacapa rums.

Posted almost 3 years ago by cK ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 65 ratings

Found this as a new offering at SFO Duty Free. Versatile - can be used as a top notch mixer or a low-end sipper with more burn than the Zacapa 23. Similar to El Dorado 12 that way. Will have to do the Pepsi Challenge between the two someday...

Posted 3 years ago by Alas ๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ท | 161 ratings

So yeah basically zacapa 23 taste with a younger rum burn, dry finish, and a touch of white wine finish (think santa teresa or appleton 12 regarding burn). I only drink rum neat, so Iโ€™m sure it would be great for drink mixers, but I personally like the burn rum gives so it merits a high 7 rounded up because there are no half points

Posted over 3 years ago by Joola69 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 2915 ratings

Last drink for tonight while chilling out in Zihuatanejo was a Ron Zacapa Ambar 12y Solera. Pretty nice bottle and label design. Golden color. Surpringly dry rum for a Zacapa. Usually they are laced with added sugar. Its like a mellow dry whiskylike rum. I just wish this would be a proper 12y old rum, and not the Solera method, then it could be so much better.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Michael ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 12 ratings

Ron Zacapa รmbar 12 yr Sistema Solera.

Saw this one hiding in mexico and had to take it home with me.

Quick review:

Light amber almost buttery color.
On the nose- dried fruit, banana and citrus.
First sip- smooth, little to no burn to speak of. The taste is very similar to the nose with the addition of a faint whiskey and wine flavor. The finish is a bit dry with not much kick on the back end and finally oak on the exhale. Solid sipper but I think this would be excellent with a cocktail.
If you find a bottle I recommend giving it a go! You won't be upset!

Na zdrowie! ๐Ÿฅƒ๐Ÿ˜โœŒ

Posted 2 months ago by krsztnkzk ๐Ÿ‡ญ๐Ÿ‡บ | 6 ratings

Bit alcoholic taste capared to other 10+ aged rums. Good choice to start your well aged rum career.

Posted 4 months ago by Peter ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช | 45 ratings

En sรคmre zacapa men รคndรฅ vรคldigt god,lite spritig i smaken men mjuk och sรถt.




Brand Details

Name: Ambar 12
Company: Ron Zacapa
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
2915
2. Kieron wood ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง
559
3. Michal Micko ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
546
4. Adrian Adame ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
514