Diplomatico 2004 rum

Diplomatico 2004

Venezuela | Aged

8.9/10
73 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
1
2
18
19
30

Rate Diplomatico 2004

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

73 Diplomatico 2004 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Stuartt Corder 🇨🇱 | 14 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Lightly sweet and fairly heavy bodied. Complex on the wood and dark chocolate. I get this for 55000 pesos locally in Chile (80 bucks or so US, not that I could get it in the USA). Amazing and spectacular for the price. I’ve been through three bottles. Considering buying a few upfront because they may run out eventually....

Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) 🇸🇪 | 358 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Have had this one for a while together with three other of the single vintages and this is the first one I open.
I think it has a nuanced, complex and a elegant taste of almonds, nuts, chocolate, yellow fruits such as orange, arrack and with a hint of candied figs.
The Sherry finish is also clearly recognizable.
The finish is quite long.
Unfortunately I think it’s a little too sweet even though the ABV of 43% balance the sweetness to a certain grade.
Pictures: My Diplomatico shelf & My opened bottle.

Andy (PREMIUM) 🇬🇧 | 126 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Amazing nose of caramel and brown sugar, it should seriously be a cologne. Fruitier than almost any other rum I’ve tasted, with cashews, walnuts, and a little leather. Very little smokey or vegetal compared to other comparable rums. Incredibly well balanced neither sweet or spice is too much. Short finish, makes me want to sip more and more.

It’s so unique and complex I’m not sure Id want to sip on it constantly, but plan to circle back every so often and see how it compares to others.

Reiwa 🇯🇵 | 142 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

It is strong, has heavy body and cognac like taste. Nice sipper.

CYA 🇩🇴 | 1 rating
Posted almost 4 years ago

Excellent in every way, aroma, taste finish. Great pairing for a Cigar.

Peter 🇸🇪 | 60 ratings
Posted 4 months ago

Detta är en av de bästa rumen jag smakat. Mycket smak,lite sötma och ingen spritsmak.

Konstantinos Pap MD 🇬🇷 | 10 ratings
Posted 6 months ago

Not gonna repeat the same things people comment all around this. Sherry, sweet, lasting body etc. Was the first premium I ever got and I was amazed by the chocolate taste of it. It is a fascinating combination coming from the sweetness and the wood.

Snookerman (TASTING CLUB) 🇬🇧 | 166 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

This rum was one of my biggest disappointments. I enjoy the Diplomatico rums and this is the first which I did not like - though the standard Diplomatico Reserva (now retired) was only so-so.
Ok, so let's get into why I did not like it:
Nose: very little there. A faint alcohol, some wood, very faint molasses. I pushed my nose to the limits, sniffing and sniffing away...very little.
Taste - a bitterness hits your tongue - very much like walnut, but more bitter than most walnuts and without the slight hint of pleasant nutty-sweetness in that otherwise typically bitter nut. There's a bit of sherry, but more bourbon/whisky - fair enough, the barrels have done their job - but I heavily prefer the Abuelo special barrels, Dos Maderas, or (for the bourbon) Mount Gay Black Barrel. All seem to have more from start to finish and more depth. After the bitterness, you get a sharpness - and I did not find it a pleasant sharpness, personally. There's a bit of burn but not a warmth with it.
Aftertaste-wise - the bitterest of walnuts and a burn.
Give me most of the other popular Diplomaticos over this.
I'll give Diplomatico this though - this is an interestingly different rum from their usual offerings.

Per71 🇸🇪 | 79 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Super nice smell, great taste, but it needs to breathe and get som temperature.
Lots of vanilla with a long sherry finish.
Yum !

Jan Staněk 🇨🇿 | 121 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Diplomatico single vintages are always a good choice regardless what vintage you choose.