Old New Orleans Cajun Spice rum

Old New Orleans Cajun Spice

United States | Spiced

Old New Orleans Cajun Spice rum, a spiced version of the same base from their Crystal Rum thatโ€™s steeped with cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, cloves, ginger, vanilla, chicory, and cayenne pepper for four to six weeks before itโ€™s bottled at 80 proof.

via American Rum Report
6.9/10
26 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
3
4
8
4
1

Rate Old New Orleans Cajun Spice

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image

26 Old New Orleans Cajun Spice ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Beukeboom ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 304 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

This one is going to be tough to describe because I honesty cannot be as specific as I would like. Suffice to say this is one of the best spiced rums I have ever had. Furthermore this is one of those rare spiced rums that makes for a decent drink straight as it would mixed. Smooth. Has cinnamon tones along with a mild amount of nutmeg. A gold color with a wonderful aroma. I cannot adequately describe the aroma other than say it is delightful. Very little burn. Nice warmth instead. This rum is deserving of major worldwide awards. Highly recommended. A very, very special rum.

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 516 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

This is decent rum, with a lot of added flavor. It's like a cross between a flavored rum and a spiced rum. Smells of nutmeg, butterscotch, cloves, gingerbread, cinnamon, and vanilla. The taste also includes an interesting kick of hot cayenne pepper.

It's a good flavored rum, but it doesn't compare to good aged rums. A very unique rum that's worth a try if you get the chance.

DaveW ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 15 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

This is in my top 3 of spiced rums. Hard to find as Old New Orleans continues to keep things simple and close to home with distribution. This is another spiced rum with a variety of tastes to it including cinnamon, cloves, ginger, and some cayenne pepper.

Joola69 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 2925 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Rum tasting in Dallas Texas continues onwards with Old New Orleans Cajun Spice. Pretty decent bottle and label design. Golden color. Strong nutmeg and cinnamon mixed with plenty of vanilla to your nose and palate when neat sipped. Rather weird ending. Unfortunately uses the Crystal as a base and you can really feel it.

Blue_Dog_Man ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 34 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Wanted to like this so much but in the end was very disappointed. It was astringent and the spice flavors just didn't work for me.

Ramon ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 76 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

This rum was a pleasant surprise. We took the distillery tour while in New Orleans which was fun. This spicy rum reminded me of the Captains Canon Ball, but way better !

nomad ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 137 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

This is an evenly spiced mixer that is my favorite of the three entry level Old New Orleans rums. Nothing overpowering like the vanilla is in the amber; a quality mixer!

MrTomHexor ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 5 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

This is a perfect spiced rum. Not really spicy like you would expect with the word Cajun...but instead really smooth. I have been to the distillery...little outside bourbon st area. Worth a visit.....their ginger beer spiked is good too.

Jack ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 16 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

I normally don't enjoy spiced rums, I guess just putting up with them. Even when trying to range out with different brands, they all came up short. Then after a long wait from hearing about it until finally tasting it for the first time, Old New Orleans Cajun Spiced opened my eyes. This is what I've been waiting for.

N Bishop ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 18 ratings
Posted 8 years ago

Never tasted a rum like this before, and far too complex for my untrained palette for me to describe it, but that doesn't stop me from enjoying and recommending it to anyone looking for something a bit different. I enjoy it on the rocks or with Coke.




Brand Details

Name: Cajun Spice
Company: Old New Orleans
Type: Spiced
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading