Old New Orleans Cajun Spice rum

Old New Orleans Cajun Spice

United States | Spiced

Old New Orleans Cajun Spice rum, a spiced version of the same base from their Crystal Rum thatโ€™s steeped with cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, cloves, ginger, vanilla, chicory, and cayenne pepper for four to six weeks before itโ€™s bottled at 80 proof.

via American Rum Report
6.9/10
26 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
3
4
8
4
1

Rate Old New Orleans Cajun Spice

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image

26 Old New Orleans Cajun Spice ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

N Bishop ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 18 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Never tasted a rum like this before, and far too complex for my untrained palette for me to describe it, but that doesn't stop me from enjoying and recommending it to anyone looking for something a bit different. I enjoy it on the rocks or with Coke.

Robert ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 7 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

Very soft smooth drink. Flavors of vanilla, caramel, burnt sugar with hints of clove and maybe cinnamon. It'd be a shame to mix something this flavorful.

Alas ๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ท | 196 ratings
Posted 12 months ago

One of the sweeter spiced rums iโ€™ve tasted, worth it if you lean that way

pete112 ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 3 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

This could just be how it travelled, but i bought a bottle in New Orleans to bring home, and by the time I came home it tasted utterly foul.

Blanex ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฑ | 6 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Picked this one up when we were on new Orleans and went onto the rum tour in the small factory. Nice aftertaste and it is really spicy. Good combination.

Jason ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 131 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

I had no idea what to expect when I tried this, but I was beyond impressed. Smooth all the way down, great noโ€™s with hints of vanilla and spice, extremely wonderful mixture of different spices. This was wonderful to drink straight but I will be mixing this all holiday season.

zinkowska ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 1 rating
Posted 3 years ago

We tried this in New Orleans on the recommendation of a security guard at 21st Amendment Bar. This gorgeous Amber rum is smooth on the palate with hints of fresh nutmeg and other intriguing spices. Full bodied. Not too sweet ... just right.

Paul B ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 452 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Having grown up in SE Louisiana and having been to the Caribbean many times, I often said that Louisiana needed to start making rum from it's plentiful sugar cane of high quality. When that finally happened many years ago, I thought that the first one was quite awful (and may have been from this company). After that, I turned a blind eye to every new rum from Louisiana and said that it took folks in the Caribbean centuries to perfect their rums. I remember trying one of the Bayou Rums at a football game and was totally grossed out. My blind eye also overlooked the Rougaroux line until a trustworthy friend advised me to try one them. Good idea, but more on that in a later review.

Not being a fan of spiced rums at all, I went searching here and this one was rated rather high for that class. I bought it as a mixer with no further expectations. Mission accomplished! Instead of having to add all of those fancy Caribbean spices to a drink to render it "authentic Caribbean", one can just keep a bottle of this on hand. Drinking it neat is horrible, but ice really brings out the flavors of vanilla, nutmeg, and cinnamon. I would only use it as a mixer. It has cayenne pepper in it, but I can barely taste it. After all, I have been told that one can boil crawfish in my Bloody Marys.

Now for my gripe on marketing. This is really a Caribbean spiced rum with some cayenne pepper instead of Scotch Bonnet peppers, yet it is labeled as "Cajun Spice". Sorry, but Cajun spices are onion, bell pepper, celery, green onion, garlic, parsley, thyme, bay leaf, salt, black pepper, and cayenne pepper. Hey, one out of eleven does not count for calling it Cajun.

Charles Gillet ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฟ | 2 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Cajun spices on the Nose, while a subtle cotton candy/honeycomb sweetness without being too sickly sweet or super viscous. Favourite spiced rum ever!

Wayne Upton ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 136 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Not terrible for a spiced, but you can do better. Please see my review on the Crystal for more information.

Pat Bou ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 95 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Rhum smooth et spice en mรชme temps un gout unique




Brand Details

Name: Cajun Spice
Company: Old New Orleans
Type: Spiced
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading