Old Monk Gold Reserve rum

Old Monk Gold Reserve

India | Gold

6.0/10
14 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
5
1
2
1

Rate Old Monk Gold Reserve

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image

14 Old Monk Gold Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

mr.wazzotic πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ | 38 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

Very exotic rum from India. Not great but not so bad on the other hand. Bit stronger but also quite smooth with lots of cocoa and chocolate fragments in the taste. Worth trying.

5xo (PREMIUM) πŸ‡ΈπŸ‡° | 294 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Mellow nose and taste, lots of sediment from aging process probably. Strong coffee notes. I had a bottle with 12y sign on it, but it is probably the same thing. 6/10 is not really bad mark, anything above 5 is alright with me but I would not buy a bottle.

stefan πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 50 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

I just remember tasting this delicious rum in a very quick tasting at a liquor store. Not quite the environment to really give it a full rating but it gets an 8 based on my rushed try.

Scott T πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 122 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

You'll love the Gold reserve - it's got the same unusual flavor profile, with a very rich molasses and caramelly flavor but even more intense and woody. Though there is no age statement on the bottle, the retailer I bought it from has it listed as 12 yrs old. At only $18 - $2 more than the Old Monk XXX - it is an amazing bargain.

Reiwa πŸ‡―πŸ‡΅ | 142 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

I don't like Old Monk 7 year. It has strange rubber like smell.
However, this one has normal caramel and banana flavor.

Ernie Higgs πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 31 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

I was amazed to see Old Monk in a local liquor store so I had to buy it to try it. In India I had found Old Monk the Legend to be the standard available as there seemed to be few others. At the airport leaving India only The Legend was available so it came home with me. The Gold Reserve is a step above The Legend, better nose (molasses) and quite a bit smoother in the mouth with an aftertaste of cloves(?). An interesting diversion and a unique change.

frozen πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 10 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Wow. Love this rum. No added sugar. Overloaded with caramel and vanilla flavours. I have tried so many rums and it amazes me that a rum out of India is my favorite.

Michal Micko πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ | 562 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

Very nice aroma with banana and tropical fruit tones. Taste is not so good, weak body with sugar and molasse tones. Aftertaste is very short and bitter.
Much better than Old Monk 7y or XXX bit nothing special.

Bartosz112233 πŸ‡΅πŸ‡± | 15 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

Sharp, lack of some more sophisticated flavours. It's not bad but I would expect more from 12 year old rum...

TIE-BONE πŸ‡©πŸ‡ͺ | 33 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

A very promising nose, and a good first taste. Unfortunately it transfers then in a sharp and bitter taste. In the end a slight sweet caramel and chocolate finish. Sums up to a bit of a disappointment.

Charles M πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 140 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

.....leads to a slightly disappointing rum. Working in the booze trade, I have strong views on presentation. This presentation and labels are scruffy which then leads me to think, if they can't be bothered to care for the presentation, what hope is there in the care and attention that they have lavished on the rum. Sure, it is not the most expensive rum in the world, but that is no excuse. My Gold Reserve bottle is in the dumpy square bottle.

Over bearing flavours of caramel which suggest that there has been the addition of sugar. Smooth enough but lacks any flavours other than caramel, and lacks sophistication.

Drinkable in a bind, but there are so many other rums out there that are more rewarding. It will be useful though, as it will make me more appreciative of the other rums in the cupboard.




Brand Details

Name: Gold Reserve
Company: Old Monk
Type: Gold
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading