Montebello 2003 6-Year rum

Montebello 2003 6-Year

Guadeloupe | Agricole | 42.0% ABV | Column Still (1-4) Distilled

6.6/10
9 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
6

Rate Montebello 2003 6-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

9 Montebello 2003 6-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 1 year ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) 🇸🇪 | 316 ratings

I’m a real fan of Montebello after tasting the 10yo and the 1999 Single Cask so I decided to increase my Montebello shelf a while ago to what you can see on the picture below.
After have starting with the younger ones the turn now has come to the 6yo. The vintage I reviews here is the 2003. It can also be found as vintage 1999 and 2007, but I don’t now if they differ in any way. The vintage is written on the backside label. By the way so are all aged Montebello Rhum vintages except the 3yo which is a blend.
After warmed up it’s a little bit sticky in nose even though the aroma is nice. The aroma consists mostly of fruits and I recognize apple. The stickiness disappears after breathing a short while.
On the palate and during the finish, which is medium long, it’s very smooth and the fruitiness dominates together with some smokiness but you can also recognize spices and of course some sweetness.
So far I’m very pleased with my decision to increase my Montebello shelf after tasting the Blanc, the 3yo, the 4yo, the 5yo and the 6yo.
Pictures: My opened bottle & My Montebello shelf.

Posted over 1 year ago by hugorollo (TASTING CLUB) 🇸🇪 | 9 ratings

I tasted this rum with my father a couple of days ago.
First of all it has a good nose with a very nice fruity aroma, although it is a bit sticky.
In the palate you can taste a lot of fruit and I believed it to be very smoky and spicy, almost a little whisky feeling to it in my opinion.
The finish and aftertaste is good and pretty long.
All in all its a good agricole that I would recommend.

Posted over 3 years ago by Joola69 🇺🇸 | 2886 ratings

Visited the Montebello Distillery while vacationing in Guadeloupe. Distillery tours were closed for the season, but very nice pour yourself tasting being offered at the distillery. Montebello Vieux 6y was priced at very reasonable EUR 25 per bottle. Deep golden color. Nice and good looking bottle and label design. Sweet Rhum Agricole flavors complemented with tropical fruits, grass and mild oak to your nose and palate. Very mild burn at the end. Rhum Agricole lovers can easily add 2 points. Surprisingly the 6y is much smoother than the 8y.

Posted 11 months ago by ValR 🇫🇷 | 29 ratings

Rhum dont je ne suspecte pas l'ajout de sucre (pas de test), qui est trouvable pour un budget moyen (40-50€).
Un puissant rhum agricole qui montre instantanément des arômes de fruits secs, et particulièrement de pruneau. Il reste longtemps en bouche avec une impression de salé sur la fin.
Je ne suis pas fan de ce sec prédominant, mais il saura plaire aux plus amateurs de ce dernier.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Izzy 🇸🇪 | 18 ratings

I boght it in Guadeloupe, when visiting distillery.
Gold yellow colour
Nose: dry orange peel, dried grass, mature fruits (plums), sugarcane
Taste: dry, smokey, litle sweetness, mature fruits, more like an whisky
OK, but not great.

Posted 2 years ago by Marco Forlani 🇮🇹 | 35 ratings

Nice and honest agricole rhum. Smoother than both the 3yo and 8yo. Good fruit bouquet and some taste of vanilla. Not bad for a neat sip but it’s definitively rich and tasteful for mixer.

Posted 3 years ago by Phil 🇷🇪 | 158 ratings

Rhum agricole 6 ans d'âge de Petit Bourg (Guadeloupe), distillerie réputée pour ses rhums vieux.
Design : vieillot, le packaging ne met le produit en valeur, le rhum est ambre clair.
Nez : sucré, fruité, engageant
Bouche : Attaque douce, boisé léger, tanins et épices on retrouve le goût fruité et un soupçon de caramel, pas mal du tout.
Finale : léger goût de canne.
Ce Montebello 6 ans est très agréable à boire.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal 🇧🇪 | 399 ratings

Light amber colour. The nose is about exotic fruits, pineapple, mango. Notes of dried fruits, apricots, prunes. Vanilla with a pleasant woody and not too present. On the palate, it's always very pastry, crème brûlée, butter. A short final with a vegetal side. Real rate = 6,5

Posted 4 years ago by Martino 🇧🇪 | 61 ratings

Le nez aromatique à souhait et révèle des saveurs de pruneaux séchés et de fruits secs grillés. En bouche, ce rhum 6 ans dévoile toute sa richesse caractérisée par de subtiles notes de bois et d'épices.




Brand Details

Name: 2003 6-Year
Company: Montebello
Type: Agricole
Distillation: Column Still (1-4)
ABV: 42.0%
Aged: 6
Distilled: 2003
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2886
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
559
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
545
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
513