Newfoundland Screech rum

Newfoundland Screech

Canada | Gold

5.8/10
62 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
2
12
20
16
4
2

Rate Newfoundland Screech

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

62 Newfoundland Screech ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Kurt Lauerman 🇺🇸 | 41 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

Surprisingly good! Has a unique taste, probably a little tough for most to appreciate neat, but I went through the bottle in about a week so it can't have been too bad ;)

Stabby 🇨🇦 | 68 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Drank this for the first time while playing Newfie poker with me friends from the East by. Next ting I know! I'm sideways on the floor and me heads hurtin.

Michael Regular 🇨🇦 | 36 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

This rum can knock yer socks off!
Be careful landlovers, she can bring up quite a gail!

Jamie Hicks 🇨🇦 | 32 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

Similar to Old Sam, drinking this makes you an honorary Newfoundlander. Good enough reason to drink it once.

Srod 🇨🇦 | 30 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Ce rhum est une belle découverte je recherchais un rhum Jamaïquein classique
Mais je n'aime pas le Appleton
Je trouve celui si mieux équilibré
Et plus savoureux un peu plus sucrée mais pas trop et la finale est pas trop sec ni trop boisé

Docsarvis (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 347 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

This is good stuff. It has a lot of Jamaican funk” but in balance and with some great traditional flavor. Lovely nose. Great color. Nice bite. Not sweet with nice oak and molasses notes, traces of banana and vanilla. I’ll drink this over Smith & Cross any day. It is as good straight up as it is as a mixer. If it’s like kissing a cod like one reviewer advised, then pucker up codfish. I am ready. Nice finish. Nice rum. For $20 it is a STEAL. I may come back and give this an 8. It’s that good. Bravo Newfies! This is now a permanent denizen in my liquor cabinet.

Jagsroy (PREMIUM) 🇨🇦 | 239 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Screech Rum is well known in Canada and anyone that lives or has visited Newfoundland is familiar with this Rum. While the rum itself originates from Jamaica, it is crafted in Newfoundland and is said to have become the traditional drink of Newfoundlanders. Having never before sampled this rum I had preconceived ideas of a cheap rum only used for mixing and having tasted and disliked three types of Appleton rums in the last few months my expectations were not that great.

The rum is of a nice mahogany colour and sweet smells of molasses and brown sugar are immediately noticed along with an alcohol smell. In the mouth flavours of caramel and molasses continue (although not overpowering) and a nice heat follows. Newfoundland Screech Rum does not compare in quality to some of my favourite sipping rums but let me tell you that I am pleasantly surprised at this great value rum, which will, from now on, be part of my rum collection.

Adam 🇨🇦 | 22 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

The Amber tones are like Amber. This is Old Sam's little brother only not as sweet and thick with less of a leathery finish. It would be better as an overproof, but its not offered without spices. While it's probably nothing like the original I keep grabbing it off the shelf.

Jamie hartley 🇨🇦 | 29 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

I had to of enjoyed this rum it got me to kiss a cod.

Earl Elliott 🇨🇦 | 213 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Sugar: 0 to 5 gpl. I was expecting it to be very harsh as it's normally given as a rite of passage or a dare. It's a decent rum with strong taste but not distasteful. Goes well with Coke and I have not tried it with anything else. I did give it a taste with no mix and went back to get some Coke and ice.

mamajuana 🇺🇸 | 148 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

This is a decent spirit all around. The color in the glass is nothing less than spectacular. The scent the excellence of this spirit is aware in the nosing and glass. This smoothness is amazingly apparent. The taste is quite flavorful. This is a great spirit I highly recommend this. Straight up no rocks.




Brand Details

Name: Screech
Company: Newfoundland
Type: Gold
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading