Background Image
Preload image
Newfoundland Screech rum

Newfoundland Screech

Canada | Gold | 40% ABV

5.8/10
64 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
2
12
20
18
4
2

Rate Newfoundland Screech

Tap to Rate

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

64 Newfoundland Screech Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Roaming Space Cat πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 11 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Bought this out of curiosity as one of the local tiki bars use it in a few of their cocktails. Not amazing to drink straight, but could be good as a mixer.

mc (BASIC) πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 81 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

What a great experience to have a rum from a cold climate country, Canada. Unfortunately, harsh and unbalanced.

Dwayne Schuett πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 5 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

Decent tasting rum. Drank it mixed with Coke and also had it with pineapple juice. Good rum to have a good time with friends. Definitely good every day rum.

Pollux (BASIC) πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 269 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

Rhum Γ  boire avec un accompagnement, du coke ou du 7up.

Jleveille (BASIC) πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 24 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

It’s very similar to a Jamaican Rum called Appleton Estates. Not my fav, but not as horrible as I had imagine.

Frances (BASIC) πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 2 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

I like a deeper, smoother, strong flavor without a lot of burn. This Rum is one of my favorites.

Leo K (BASIC) πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 69 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Horrible Name. Subtle taste, not too sweet and no alcohol burn as the name may lead you to think. Arguably the best rum LCBO has for under $30.00.

Don (BASIC) πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 165 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Almost a sipper for only $28 at the LCBO. Amber colour; nose of spice, brown sugar, vanilla and caramel. Light toffee flavour with a hint of brine and a spicy finish. Not a heavy Jamaican Appleton style and that is good with me.

Kamamura πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ | 37 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Oh my, the bottle just came in, and I instantly regret ordering it. Newfoundland rum, I read, and curiosity took over. A big mistake. It's always a warning sign when people have to invent a ritual to coax themselves into drinking an alcoholic beverage (remember that bad, bitter Bohemian absinth burned with a sugarcube?)

The rum looks attractive enough in the bottle, dark, mahogany color, no doubt courtesy of Caramel and co. The smell is faint, distant, paint thinner and burnt sugar, with some fruits in the back.

But the taste, oh my, the taste! It begins with straight up sugar, and lots of it. There is really no mistaking it - it's not subtle at all. Obviously a column distillate, because there is none of that pot still chewiness, no depth or volume, instead, what you get is an imbalanced, thin mixture of the initial artificial sweetness that is very quickly drowned in strong, unpleasant, astringent bitterness. Think old teabags, like a mug of tea you made in the morning to drink with breakfast, but forgot about, and you discover it in the afternoon, cold, and unpalatably bitter. It just screams barrel aging gone wrong - probably very old barrels used too many times that can only impart this residual bitterness, once all the caramel, vanilla and other interesting flavors are long gone.

Even when mixed, it imparts the drink with that unpleasant, bitter, astringent, lingering note. This is really a bottled disaster.

Avoid.

Engwild (BASIC) πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 153 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Not sure why they loveit, but it's pretty middle of the road, but better than the US typical spiced.

Davejohn (BASIC) πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 31 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Strong alcohol is really all that meets your nose.
It burns in the mouth and leaves no discernible pleasant taste.
When mixed with a dark mixer (Coke or Pepsi) it is drinkable, however this simply tones down the alcohol burn. There is still no discernible pleasant or good taste.
Newfoundland is a great place and this rum carries a certain cachet with it, however without the history and the stories it would have little, if anything, to recommend it.




Brand Details

Company: Newfoundland
Type: Gold
Name: Screech
ABV: 40%
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Unknown
Distillation: Unknown