Canasteros 21 Solera rum

Canasteros 21 Solera

Colombia | Aged

6.5/10
12 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
4
1
1

Rate Canasteros 21 Solera

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

12 Canasteros 21 Solera ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Mo McGurk ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 215 ratings

Looking for a rum for Thanksgiving and had not previously seen this one at Total Wine. Not disappointed in this Columbian rum, and both my father-in-law and I enjoyed its pleasant flavor. Could be served on the rocks or mixed depending on your mood. This rates a 6.5 on my scale.

Posted over 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 514 ratings

This is a good rum, but it's not as smooth as I expected for a 21 year (probably due to 'solera' aging).

Smells and tastes of toffee, oak, nuts, with a hint of whiskey and vanilla. Not bad, but not great to me.

Posted 12 months ago by Pirate ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 18 ratings

I enjoy this rum mainly due to the reasonable price for a "21 year" rum, not as smooth as many others aged that long. The taste is subtle, hard to put a finger on any one flavor but not the tasteless low shelves like Bacardi. A little more burn than most 21 years but makes a decent sipping, neat rum. Overall, I would have made it a 6 but due to the reasonable price, I let it have a 7.

Posted almost 2 years ago by verbeeg ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 1 rating

I have to disagree with the reviews that peg this as an average rum. I suppose it depends on what you're looking for. If you want a delicious rum with an absolutely smooth finish and no burning going down or harsh after taste the 21 year old Canasteros is the rum for you.

If you're looking for something "harsh" or "bold" and don't mind the burn going down, then yeah Canasteros is average.

Note there is a big difference between the 21 year and the other Canasteros vintages. I tried the 15 and it was indeed just average and a lot less smooth. The 21 year is hands down one of the best rums I've tried, not just at this price range.

If you want a smooth easy drinking rum this is worth every penny and more.

Posted 4 years ago by poosu ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 40 ratings

I believe I have the correct rum The bottle says Canasteros 21 solera which I bought at Total Wine as an experiment. The oldest for the money I could find. What I drank was the best I can remember. I'm no connoisseur, but I know if I like the taste and smoothness. My favorite is Bacardi which I gave a 10. It has good taste, smoothness and a reasonable price. I have tried more expensive rums but they do not deliver an improvement worth the price in my mind. This rum is equal to my Bacardi 8 but the price is 50% higher so it looses a bit in my rating.

Posted 4 days ago by Midgarn ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 25 ratings

Deeply aromatic, intense taste throughout the mouth.

Posted 4 months ago by mtclsu ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 8 ratings

I expected more with it being 21 years old. Overall it is good, but not much body. It finishes smooth, but I would rather flavor over smoothness.

Posted 1 year ago by Paul B ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 426 ratings

I had rated this one's two younger brothers both as a 6 when they were still named Porteno. The use of former Jack Daniel's barrels took away from my rating on those. Somehow, that influence is no longer present on this one. This is simply a dry rum with no additives and at $33 US, I will take this one any day over most of the ones from Foursquare ECS that grab way too much attention in my book. This one is a sleeper. Also, the bird on this label will not cost you anything more, unlike the line of rums from Hampden with birds on their labels. Pay extra for the bird and you get the bird!

Posted over 1 year ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 362 ratings

Itโ€™s an ok rum but presented to me as the holy grail. Itโ€™s dark smooth but without lingering depth you would expect in a 21 year old rum. I say over hyped itโ€™s an ok $30 rum.

Posted 2 years ago by Adreinke ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 16 ratings

So at smell itโ€™s not an appealing rum. First taste is bitter, burns a little when going down. More of a mixing or baking rum. I personally wonโ€™t drink it meat or on rocks as itโ€™s more bitter then most rums I drink.

Posted over 2 years ago by gdtrfb ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 32 ratings

Reasonably priced, light overall with a dry finish. Worth a go, but seems consistent with other Columbian offerings. Sampled neat and with one cube. The latter opens up a more drinkable option for those throttling back a bit.




Brand Details

Name: 21 Solera
Company: Canasteros
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
2886
2. Kieron wood ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง
559
3. Michal Micko ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
545
4. Adrian Adame ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
514