Canasteros 21 Solera rum

Canasteros 21 Solera

Colombia | Aged

6.5/10
13 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
5
1
1

Rate Canasteros 21 Solera

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

13 Canasteros 21 Solera ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 515 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

This is a good rum, but it's not as smooth as I expected for a 21 year (probably due to 'solera' aging).

Smells and tastes of toffee, oak, nuts, with a hint of whiskey and vanilla. Not bad, but not great to me.

Pirate ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 20 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

I enjoy this rum mainly due to the reasonable price for a "21 year" rum, not as smooth as many others aged that long. The taste is subtle, hard to put a finger on any one flavor but not the tasteless low shelves like Bacardi. A little more burn than most 21 years but makes a decent sipping, neat rum. Overall, I would have made it a 6 but due to the reasonable price, I let it have a 7.

verbeeg ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 1 rating
Posted 2 years ago

I have to disagree with the reviews that peg this as an average rum. I suppose it depends on what you're looking for. If you want a delicious rum with an absolutely smooth finish and no burning going down or harsh after taste the 21 year old Canasteros is the rum for you.

If you're looking for something "harsh" or "bold" and don't mind the burn going down, then yeah Canasteros is average.

Note there is a big difference between the 21 year and the other Canasteros vintages. I tried the 15 and it was indeed just average and a lot less smooth. The 21 year is hands down one of the best rums I've tried, not just at this price range.

If you want a smooth easy drinking rum this is worth every penny and more.

poosu ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 40 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

I believe I have the correct rum The bottle says Canasteros 21 solera which I bought at Total Wine as an experiment. The oldest for the money I could find. What I drank was the best I can remember. I'm no connoisseur, but I know if I like the taste and smoothness. My favorite is Bacardi which I gave a 10. It has good taste, smoothness and a reasonable price. I have tried more expensive rums but they do not deliver an improvement worth the price in my mind. This rum is equal to my Bacardi 8 but the price is 50% higher so it looses a bit in my rating.

Anthony C ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 186 ratings
Posted 26 days ago

This rum smells of fruit and oak. Tastes strong with a long burn. Some bitter after taste though.

Midgarn ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 25 ratings
Posted 1 month ago

Deeply aromatic, intense taste throughout the mouth.

mtclsu ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 8 ratings
Posted 5 months ago

I expected more with it being 21 years old. Overall it is good, but not much body. It finishes smooth, but I would rather flavor over smoothness.

Paul B ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 447 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

I had rated this one's two younger brothers both as a 6 when they were still named Porteno. The use of former Jack Daniel's barrels took away from my rating on those. Somehow, that influence is no longer present on this one. This is simply a dry rum with no additives and at $33 US, I will take this one any day over most of the ones from Foursquare ECS that grab way too much attention in my book. This one is a sleeper. Also, the bird on this label will not cost you anything more, unlike the line of rums from Hampden with birds on their labels. Pay extra for the bird and you get the bird!

Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 371 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Itโ€™s an ok rum but presented to me as the holy grail. Itโ€™s dark smooth but without lingering depth you would expect in a 21 year old rum. I say over hyped itโ€™s an ok $30 rum.

Adreinke ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 16 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

So at smell itโ€™s not an appealing rum. First taste is bitter, burns a little when going down. More of a mixing or baking rum. I personally wonโ€™t drink it meat or on rocks as itโ€™s more bitter then most rums I drink.




Brand Details

Name: 21 Solera
Company: Canasteros
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading