Hamilton Navy Strength rum

Hamilton Navy Strength

Multiple | Overproof

6.8/10
10 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
1
5

Rate Hamilton Navy Strength

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image

10 Hamilton Navy Strength ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

LegallySmelf ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 32 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Not quite what I was hoping for. A bit of uncontrolled funk with a fair bit of hotness - quite a significant bite. I find that, at a similar price, Pusser's Gunpowder Proof outperforms it by a lot.

Joola69 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 2925 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Rum tasting in New York City continued with Hamilton 114 Navy Strength Rum. Old school bottle and label design. Light golden color. No added sugars at all. Typical Jamaican funk and glue straight to your nose and palate when neat sipped. Might be rotten banana peels, or rotten pineapple, or might be a weird copper still method, but trust me, the nose test is simply nasty. Dry burn and more funk and more glue at the end.

Engwild ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 153 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

More of that Jamaican funk but with some bite behind it.

Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 371 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Last bottle from epic rum tasting last night. I am a huge fan of British Navy Rums, with the best ones Guyana, Trinidad, Jamaica or Barbados. This one falls short. A bit too much Jamaica for my tastes, initial funk without enough depth of the Guyana. A nice rum for the money and at overproof not to much kick. Reality 6.5

Paul B ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 448 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

The extra 2.5% ABV on this rum over Pusser's Gunpowder Proof absolutely ruins it. It is still an okay rum deserving of my rating of 6, but no more. The Hamilton's Florida Rum Society is also light years better at 90 proof instead of this 114 Proof. Ice cubes cannot even tame this one.

Tony Sanders (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 65 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

Overproof goodness. The alcohol burn is mild. You can drink it neat and feel the raw or cube or water it and the burn becomes a wisper. Airing letโ€™s the banana and pineapple peep out. Piratejabez say it all in his review. The sugar and vanilla linger well.

piratejabez ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 324 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

57% ABVโ€”that's "full proof," as the name indicates. Lively, prickly nose. Young Jamaican funk really excited to get out of the bottle and into your senses. Benefits from time to breathe in the glass. Hint of banana and pineapple. Grounded by the rich, caramelly demerara. In the palate, full, with the same fruits, plus treacle, and an array of herbaceous notes. Anise? More pineapple. Slightly oily mouthfeel. Finish has some bitterness, with a hint of cherry, and is reasonably long. Good at bottle strength, but a few drops of water doesn't hurt.

Delicious neat, it begs to be deployed in a Navy Grog or other drinks. It's not the most refined navy rum I've ever had, but it's a good introduction to the style at a great price. If you like navy-style rums like Pusser's, don't pass this one up. It's a great deal.

7+, 8-

JAHinojos ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 21 ratings
Posted 11 months ago

I have tried many different Navy Rums, and this is the one I like the best. I love Jamaican and Agricore rums, and want that same taste in my Navy Rum. I have used Pusser's before I bought Hamilton, and found it a bit lacking in the flavours I am looking for in a rum. If you like Jamaican and Navy Strength, I would suggest you try this one.

lholz13 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 27 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

This is my favorite Hamilton expression. The bottle just disappeared.

eddieo ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 106 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

It tastes subtle and is deceptively strong... at 57%, it ought to be. But you're not getting knocked back by spirit fumes or alcohol burns on your palate, these big guns have finesse and character, well enough to stand on its own or in a cocktail. A little dangerous if drinking neat, only because it's easy to sip and will sneak up on you quickly and breach your beachhead if you're not watching your battlespace. Then again, in a cocktail, or weakened with an ice cube, you're in for some smooth sailing.