Posting your rating...
Papas Pilar Spanish Sherry Cask Finished 24-Year rum

Papas Pilar Spanish Sherry Cask Finished 24-Year

United States | Aged | 40.0% ABV

8.1/10
47 ratings
That's some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
27
10
4

Rate Papas Pilar Spanish Sherry Cask Finished 24-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

47 Papas Pilar Spanish Sherry Cask Finished 24-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Eagle1986Panther1990 from United States with 5 ratings

Papas Pilar adds a hint of additional complexity with this sherry finished beauty. A Wonderful sipper. Their whole line is strong especially considering the price point and what it compares to and competes with across the board.

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted over 3 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 202 ratings

Sugar 24 GPL: This version of the Pilar is a bit redder in colour and has a definite smell and taste of almonds or walnuts. The Sherry cask aroma and taste is in the background. The maple flavour detected in the original blend is toned down a bit and the oak and spice is kicked up a notch in this blend. I still prefer the original to this version, but this one is a close second. I rated the original a 9 and this one is an 8.5.

Small img 1323

Posted 2 months ago by Simson from Czech Republic with 56 ratings

A blend of Virgin Islands rums, where the oldest component is 24 years old, at 43% strength in bottle. Pilar was Ernest Hemingway's yacht, which he sailed in the Caribbean.

The rum was aged in several types of cask: bourbon, port and sherry Oloroso wine.

Bottle: Military canteen
Colour: Mahogany
Nose: Sweet and very pleasant. It smells of caramel, honey, vanilla, sherry wine and raisins.
Taste: A little alcoholic at first. It is sweet, but not too much. In the taste you can identify wood, spices (pepper, nutmeg), caramel and again sherry. At the end it turns into a slight bitterness.
Finish: Long

Summary: A very good sweet rum that does not lack strength. I definitely recommend to taste it.

Overall rating: 8.5 out of 10

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Captain Ron from United States with 9 ratings

The standard Pilar is very sweet. This one is more balanced with nods to all of its brothers best attributes. Vanilla and almond. If you see it, buy it. You won’t be disappointed!

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by gypsysb from United States with 23 ratings

Layers of caramel, butterscotch, with a perfect bite. Amazing. Tops my list.

Small 68a9712a 14dc 4f35 a9d6 c1ee29fb5d24

Posted 6 months ago by Rogo-zin from United States with 42 ratings

Far more intense than its brethren. Brown sugar and nougat nose. Spicy mouth and finish. Very enjoyable!!! Recommend!

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Djgross144 from United States with 54 ratings

I got all three dark rums from Pilar to try them side by side. I had tried two of the three previously. They're all exceptional. The Sherry finished rum is the darkest of the three.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 102 ratings

Very dark in color, light sherry nose. Very pleasing taste, quite smooth, deep finish with slight burn. Quite pleasant.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Jcb375 from United States with 9 ratings

Whether you believe the backstory on this spirit or not, this one is quite the surprise. A nice nose and sweet pallet. Finishes with a smooth oak and caramel with a hint of apricot. I would recommend this to anyone who prefers matured complex rums neat or on the rocks. Too good to use for a mixer.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 486 ratings

I expected this to be the best of the Papa's Pilar rums. But I just slightly prefer their Dark Rum. Interestingly, their dark rum bottle also says "Finished in Spanish Sherry Casks", so I'm not sure if there's much of a difference.

They're both very similar, but I'd say the Dark just tastes a little smoother to me. This smells and tastes of vanilla, maple, almond, cinnamon, and a touch of sherry. But since the dark seemed a tad smoother, I slightly prefer that one.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Handsome Alex from United States with 88 ratings

Recommended by a friend, I couldn't wait to try it. Poured neat, it had a slightly sweet aroma with a hint of almond. The first sip is very smooth, with just a little warmth and the sweetness of the sherry coming through. It's not syrupy sweet. I liked the hint of sweetness. I added an ice cube, and it really brought out some of the flavors. More oak and spice, and just a little more of that almond-like sweetness. A good sipper, for sure.