Papas Pilar Spanish Sherry Cask Finished 24-Year rum

Papas Pilar Spanish Sherry Cask Finished 24-Year

United States | Aged | 40.0% ABV

8.1/10
58 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
5
32
13
4

Rate Papas Pilar Spanish Sherry Cask Finished 24-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

58 Papas Pilar Spanish Sherry Cask Finished 24-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 3 years ago by Pinmann πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 14 ratings

Good taste with a nice vanilla finish. Good as a go to drinker for a straight rum drink.

Posted 4 years ago by Earl Elliott πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 213 ratings

Sugar 24 GPL: This version of the Pilar is a bit redder in colour and has a definite smell and taste of almonds or walnuts. The Sherry cask aroma and taste is in the background. The maple flavour detected in the original blend is toned down a bit and the oak and spice is kicked up a notch in this blend. I still prefer the original to this version, but this one is a close second. I rated the original a 9 and this one is an 8.5.

Posted 9 months ago by Simson πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ | 79 ratings

A blend of Virgin Islands rums, where the oldest component is 24 years old, at 43% strength in bottle. Pilar was Ernest Hemingway's yacht, which he sailed in the Caribbean.

The rum was aged in several types of cask: bourbon, port and sherry Oloroso wine.

Bottle: Military canteen
Colour: Mahogany
Nose: Sweet and very pleasant. It smells of caramel, honey, vanilla, sherry wine and raisins.
Taste: A little alcoholic at first. It is sweet, but not too much. In the taste you can identify wood, spices (pepper, nutmeg), caramel and again sherry. At the end it turns into a slight bitterness.
Finish: Long

Summary: A very good sweet rum that does not lack strength. I definitely recommend to taste it.

Overall rating: 8.5 out of 10

Posted almost 4 years ago by Captain Ron πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 9 ratings

The standard Pilar is very sweet. This one is more balanced with nods to all of its brothers best attributes. Vanilla and almond. If you see it, buy it. You won’t be disappointed!

Posted 18 days ago by Dhelliwell (PREMIUM) πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 41 ratings

Good rum with nice flavors but still on the sweeter side. Some layers of flavors and a nice finish.

Posted 1 year ago by gypsysb πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 22 ratings

Layers of caramel, butterscotch, with a perfect bite. Amazing. Tops my list.

Posted 1 year ago by Rogo-zin πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 46 ratings

Far more intense than its brethren. Brown sugar and nougat nose. Spicy mouth and finish. Very enjoyable!!! Recommend!

Posted over 1 year ago by Djgross144 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 55 ratings

I got all three dark rums from Pilar to try them side by side. I had tried two of the three previously. They're all exceptional. The Sherry finished rum is the darkest of the three.

Posted over 1 year ago by Herman πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 103 ratings

Very dark in color, light sherry nose. Very pleasing taste, quite smooth, deep finish with slight burn. Quite pleasant.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jcb375 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 9 ratings

Whether you believe the backstory on this spirit or not, this one is quite the surprise. A nice nose and sweet pallet. Finishes with a smooth oak and caramel with a hint of apricot. I would recommend this to anyone who prefers matured complex rums neat or on the rocks. Too good to use for a mixer.

Posted 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 513 ratings

I expected this to be the best of the Papa's Pilar rums. But I just slightly prefer their Dark Rum. Interestingly, their dark rum bottle also says "Finished in Spanish Sherry Casks", so I'm not sure if there's much of a difference.

They're both very similar, but I'd say the Dark just tastes a little smoother to me. This smells and tastes of vanilla, maple, almond, cinnamon, and a touch of sherry. But since the dark seemed a tad smoother, I slightly prefer that one.




Brand Details

Name: Spanish Sherry Cask Finished 24-Year
Company: Papas Pilar
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
ABV: 40.0%
Aged: 24
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ
2886
2. Kieron wood πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§
558
3. Michal Micko πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ
540
4. Adrian Adame πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ
513