Clairin Sajous rum

Clairin Sajous

Haiti | Light

7.9/10
49 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
1
4
8
15
16
2

Rate Clairin Sajous

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

49 Clairin Sajous ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

oedelpino 🇺🇸 | 35 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

On the nose: yogurt, mild smokiness, and brine. On the palate: almost peaty, some burnt sugar, celery/fennel, fruit and briny vegetal notes. Long finish.

rennerg 🇺🇸 | 39 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

I just don’t know what to think about this one. It’s like no other rum I’ve had before. The vegetal notes are very prominent, almost tastes like an alcoholic tomato soup with lots of fresh herbs. It’s nuts.

Cory Wid 🇺🇸 | 89 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

There's definitely a surplus of heads products, such as ethyl acetate and acetone which gives it a very heady character. It's quite light on the palate, however, with whispers of cane and olive brine. It's somewhat intense and "unrefined", which isn't always a bad thing though I wish the heads was a little more restrained. It's unique and very worth having on the shelf - I'd put it in the same league as Cachaca.

I have a lot of respect for the serious distillers of Haiti as the country is very poor and has been mostly alienated by the rest of the world following the revolution. Its a good rum, and all the knowledge and technique involved in its production likely developed from time and experience on account of the distillers, without access to modern research. I hope most of the profit makes it back to Haiti.

RHUM FACTORY 🇫🇷 | 32 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Michel Sajous cultive une petite parcelle (30ha) sur l'île d'Haïti.
Son agriculture est vertueuse puisqu'elle respecte une approche biologique. La canne cultivée, la Cristalline est propre à l'île et doit sa notoriété à sa grande richesse aromatique. Nous sommes donc en présence d'un "rhum bio" monovariétal

C’est à partir du pur jus de canne, (sans filtration), que nous est proposé cet excellent Clairin.

Nez: la canne à sucre explose et laisse ensuite une jolie place aux notes mentholées qui lui donnent son identité et son caractère.
Bouche: généreuse et délicate empreinte d'une grande fraîcheur associant menthol et notes florales puissantes. Finale: les notes florales persistent et laissent une saveur divinement rafraîchissante

András Péter Balogh 🇭🇺 | 41 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Became one of my favorites!
Best agricole I've ever had. In Haiti they want to make this an idividual category rather than "just" agricole rhum.

JGiralt 🇺🇸 | 83 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Such good quality funk. A strong nose of cane, banana, and moss. Palate is not as smooth and a little hot. To me, that’s not a bad thing.

Smovens 🇺🇸 | 103 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Compared to vaval and rocher, this one is more refined despite being at a higher proof. The aroma is very Jamaican, but the taste is heavy on vegetables, olives, brine, spinach, green pepper, and then finishes with typical Jamaican notes

Halsey 🇺🇸 | 32 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Honestly I have never experenced a Rum remotely like this. This is part of a 24 Rum tasting present, (small portions, but more than up the job) from my son (good kid).

The nose is driving me crazy. There is a really pungent and really familiar aroma that I can't identify...and it's driving me nuts. Anyhow, a riot of things going on, and the only one I can get is the rotten banana thing. Someone below says grassy, and I can get that.

The mouth is generous, balanced with...Mango (?), certainly citrus, and pepper. It's full and (I think) not unpleasant.

I know this review isn't too helpful, but this is really new territory for me, and I'm having trouble landing on wether I like it or not. That said, without hesitation, I can say whatever it is, it's very well made, beautifully balanced and I would suspect a really winner for those who know what to expect. I think I'm sorry I don't have more...maybe.

Florianhagemann 🇵🇪 | 83 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

En nariz es básicamente un aguardiente o como lo llamamos en Perú "cañazo", quizás no tan fuerte, extremadamente frutal, herbal, pasto.
En boca, mucho pasto, muy herbal, nada gritado. Muy alcohólico.
Es un "ron" en esencia pura que cualquiera debería tener en la colección. Pero personalmnete prefiero los añejos.

Rudi 🇵🇱 | 11 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

Like all the Clairins, this one was made to provide an extreme experience to bartenders and "searchers" of new things. Pungent and at times nauseating, this distillate feels like the fussels that appear at the end (tails) of the distillation.
In spite (or maybe because) of this ultra pungent taste and aroma this Clairin is guaranteed to not get lost in the cocktails. If you think that this last quality justifies its terrible taste, then this product is for you.
I particularly find it disgusting and I think this product is having its moment in the spotlight only because it's strongly pushed by some industry heavyweights. However, in a short time people will see that the emperor has not clothes and will judge this product as what it is, a poorly made, raw and terrible spirit that will soon fade out because it lacks any real "drinkability". Time will prove if I'm right or wrong.

Bernie 🇩🇪 | 28 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Ich hatte im Rahmen eines Rumtastings das "Vergnügen" diesen Rum zu testen.
Dieser Rum wird sofort nach dem Brennen, ohne Lagerzeit, abgefüllt - und so schmeckt er auch!!! Nämlich gar nicht.
Stellen sich in der Nase noch Aromen von Platanos (grüne Bananen) sowie fruchtige Nuancen ein so ist der "Genuss" dieses Produktes eher eine Tortur. Man merkt deutlich dass er nicht gereift ist, er schmeckt sprittig und ungewöhnlich scharf im Abgang.
Ob er zum Mixen geeignet ist habe ich nicht mehr ausprobiert, erwar einfach zu schlecht.