Background Image
Preload image
Cadenhead's Classic rum

Cadenhead's Classic

United Kingdom | Aged | 50% ABV

7.3/10
20 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
2
9
3

Rate Cadenhead's Classic

Tap to Rate

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image

20 Cadenhead's Classic Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Frederick Lussier ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 155 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

Assez costaud et ruff avec son 50% alcool. Nez รฉpicรฉ et caramel. Type whisky. Manque de finesse et de complexitรฉ pour un rhum de ce prix.

piratejabez ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 322 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

A 5-year-old blend of rums from Barbados, Guyana, Jamaica, Panama, and Trinidad. 50% ABV. A: Dark (uncolored) with bits of sediment from the welcome lack of chill-filtering. N: salted caramel, oak. Bananas and mangoes. Hint of funk. P: Same as palate, along with some cola (spices?). This rum's got some bite. The youth shows here, but it's not at all unpleasant. Delicious freshly poured, but responds well to 15+ minutes breathing. Warming. F: medium-long; astringent but lingers for a while.

What a lovely rum. In my opinion, this bottle just about represents the epitome of blended rum. The Platonic ideal "rum." It's got everything you want and expect from a rum: natural dark color, rich caramel yet not sugary, hint of funk and brine, oak, presumably tropical + continental aging, admirable strength, and it's well-suited to mixing or sipping. I do think it's a bit overpriced considering its youth ($50 in the US, when I think it should be closer to $30โ€“35; so I won't be mixing it in more than a Daiquiri or two), but I can't argue with the quality. This may be my new "desert island" rum...

8+, 9-

Jonte Json ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช | 109 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

This is a great blend of Guyanan rums, with a wide palate

Cool Breeze (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 538 ratings
Posted 10 months ago

Tasted at Tiny Tiki in DC on 5/20/23. Pours dark gold, light brown. Aroma of burned toast and brown sugar. Rich and thick and oily palate. Big wine like notes of plums and raisins. Tingle of alcohol burn at the end signifies the overproof.

JGiralt (BASIC) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 83 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Smooth toffee, marshmallow, and oak palette. Beautiful golden amber hue.

Alex ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 2 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Good blended Caribbean rum from Cadenheads.
Bottled at 50% needs time to open up but full of dark toffee, demarera and tobacco notes. Water brings out some fruit compote and stewed apricot..

jru ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 111 ratings
Posted 11 months ago

Balanced and smooth, still some flavor depth
Not very extreme rummy type
But with noticeable Smokey whiskey flavor

wayoutwest ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 98 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

This is a very distinctive rum, not like anything else I've had, though I'm not sure whether that's a good thing or not!
Smell is quite rich, with a noticeable Spanish style smell coming through as well as oak. Taste is again similar but the Demerera is noticeable underneath. There's quite a bit of burn, though not unpleasant, and a dry finish.
Overall, it tastes a bit like someone mixed some Santiago de Cuba 8 with a bit of El Dorado 12. It makes for an unusual rum, and a perfectly drinkable one, but looking at the fill level on the bottle, it's easy to see it hasn't been often that I've reached for it.

Jaycee ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡บ | 67 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Amazing, everything I had hoped for.. strong abv yet smooth, full bodied, full flavoured and long lingering aftertastes.. delightful. Edit, would have scored higher if it was a tad more viscous and a little less pepper at the end.

ZTrain1177 (BASIC) ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 74 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

A nice tasting rum. Tastes of toffee and a bit of oak. Very smooth. Enjoy!

Andrewofcalgary (BASIC) ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 270 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

This is probably the first overproof Ive liked and it is more than likeable. Sweet smooth buttery with fruity notes. Great blend of rums and no vegetative taste. I just have to remind myself that because its overproof its 20% more fun.




Brand Details

Company: Cadenhead's
Type: Aged
Name: Classic
ABV: 50%
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Unknown
Distillation: Unknown

Professional Reviews