Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Don Q Oak Barrel Spiced rum

Don Q Oak Barrel Spiced

Puerto Rico | Spiced

6.4/10
29 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
0
0
0
2
5
7
12
2
1
0

Rate Don Q Oak Barrel Spiced

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image

29 Don Q Oak Barrel Spiced Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Vinesh 🇳🇱 | 19 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

The 5% additional alcohol really matters, as it maken the rum too strong for my liking! Although the taste is not that bad ...

WhatZitTooya 🇺🇸 | 32 ratings
Posted 9 months ago

What's this? A spiced rum that isn't just artificial vanilla flavor and caramel dye? Praise the lord! There are a couple other spiced rums I'd rank ahead of this, but those are all either original recipes or produced by small distilleries. This is probably the best of any widely available commercial rum brands.

Harrie 🇳🇱 | 91 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

Previously I only tried some spiced concoctions from Captain Morgan and such and they never made me any happier but I thought (inspired by Paul B) to give it one more go. But this time as dry as possible please and with some real rum in there, not some vanilla-sugared flavoured vodka.

So I found this one (a nice deal at €20) with for at least 3 years aged rum, real spices and at just 9 gpl. Oh, and an ABV of 45% so it seems serious enough.

The nose is rather sweet, with mostly vanilla, fudge and some cinnamon and a hint of oak. On the palate you notice the higher ABV, spices like cinnamon, nutmeg and a touch of cloves. The vanilla is a bit much for a young and rather light-bodied rum so I think some is added as well. There is a little smokiness from the also present oak. It ends with a mocha/dark chocolate and spiced caramel. A peppery touch stays also present for quite a bit. Despite the 45% it goes down easy enough but it is a bold rum for sure.

For a spiced rum it is truly nice but spiced rum? I don't see me sipping this all night (even at 9gpl just a tad too sweet) so it is a rum for one or two shots after a winter stroll instead of the glühwein/vin chaude or an old tawny porto I would normally take. Nice addition but at the €30 it normally goes for I'd rather spend them on anything from Foursquare or such. But by far the best spiced rum I tasted, that is certain.

Awinash 🇳🇱 | 17 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Burn. Burn. Its a like the roof is on fire. Mag ik schelden? Burn m*thf****

Sipaspiced 🇺🇸 | 3 ratings
Posted 3 months ago

I've been looking for a spiced rum that satisfies my palate. I bought a bottle of Don Q Oak Barrel Spiced, and it has disappointed me a lot. Neither the aroma nor the taste has impressed me at all. In my opinion, it's too strong both on the palate and when drinking it. So far, the only spiced rum I've liked is the Chairman's Reserve Spiced. I got to try it in a liquor store, but there were no more bottles available for sale.

As for the Don Q Oak Barrel Spiced, it hasn't been a good experience. It even seems more like a regular gold rum than a spiced rum.

MDrumrunner 🇺🇸 | 43 ratings
Posted 4 months ago

Always a fan of Do. Q! Vanilla cream and a stone fruit note with a hint of caramel on the nose. On the palate, a dry Vanilla/caramel note with ends with the stone fruit. Very slight warming at the back of the mouth but fades quickly. Could be fun to use as a floater on a mixed drink.

DB 🇺🇸 | 71 ratings
Posted 5 months ago

This is reasonably interesting. On the nose, sugar cookie dough, cola, vanilla (dominant). On the palate, pretty warm going down at ABV 45%, but this is good. Similar to the nose, but oak inserts itself with mocha and toffee notes. Cinnamon is very distant for me.

This is pretty decent overall, but I do prefer Chairman's Reserve Spiced by a fair margin especially since they are about the same price.

Denniscb 🇳🇱 | 3 ratings
Posted 11 months ago

Price quality wise its a good rum for mixing.......

Jesper Mazanti 🇩🇰 | 162 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

:-)
Farven er ok
Duften er lille
Smagen med en ok fylde og lille sødme.
Eftersmagen hænger fint kraftigt.
Smagning Andrup Vin.
:-)

Toxie 🇺🇸 | 23 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

For it's cost, I found it decent. A quality bottle that was moderately sweet and disappeared without any drama!

Adrian Adame 🇨🇿 | 699 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Jednoznačně nejpříjemnější spice rum, koření jen zlehka, jemný, přírodně nasládlý




Brand Details

Type: Spiced
Company: Don Q
Country: Puerto Rico
Name: Oak Barrel Spiced
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Pure blend (1 distillery)
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: No

Professional Reviews

1. Total Wine
Loading...