Posting your rating...
El Ron Prohibido Gran Reserva 15-Year rum

El Ron Prohibido Gran Reserva 15-Year

Mexico | Aged

6.2/10
53 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
6
14
19
8

Rate El Ron Prohibido Gran Reserva 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

53 El Ron Prohibido Gran Reserva 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 2 years ago by Martin Wicke from Germany with 17 ratings

Found it tough to figure out the taste as it is quite neutral, rather on the sweet side of rums.

Posted over 1 year ago by Mike (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 145 ratings

Well... nothing special. Aroma is good with flavours of vanilla, nuts and plum. But in mouth is not that good. Rum lack of complexity and has almost no body.. it is smooth but It is all.. weak flavours of vanilla, wood and coffee and very strange finish wchich taste like tequila.

Posted 4 years ago by Vlado from Slovakia with 51 ratings

Veľmi tmavý rum vo fľaši, skoro až do čierna, po naliatí do pohára pôsobí trochu svetlejšie, ale snáď ani 50 ročný rum nedosiahne takúto farbu...určite ho majstri v Mexiku ničím neprifarbili...=)...vôňa rumu je príjemná nasladlá, náznak vanilky, oriešky, sušené slivky. Chuť podľa môjho názoru výrazne zaostáva za arómou. Niečo mi tam nezapadá na záver a v dochuti. Asi je na mná príliš horký alebo trpký. Výrazné drevité tóny, káva a mandľova horkosť. Niečo podobné ako mladší 12 ročný El Ron Prohibido, aj keď o triedu lepšie. U mňa je toto kategória mixer.

Posted 13 days ago by el_pepe from Germany with 6 ratings

It was a Xmas present and I do like the taste. Its a warm rum with coffee, caramel and a little tobacco notes.

Posted 23 days ago by Sve from Germany with 44 ratings

Der Abgang ist lang und nicht angenehm. Interessante Würze, mir zu sprittig.

Posted 25 days ago by Daviduss from Czech Republic with 14 ratings

It was nice to try, but i guess i will not buy it again.

Posted 1 month ago by VikingXO from Denmark with 163 ratings

Mexican rums got a characteristic smell and taste. If you want a easy sipper that stands out a bit from classic spanish style rums, then i recommend you try this, but can’t promise that you will like it. It reminds me a bit of sweet heavy dark tobacco and chocolade with hints of tequila and lemon. Not a strong nose or aftertaste, however the price is good compared to what you get.

Posted 2 months ago by Pandur from Austria with 83 ratings

Rum hat einen ansprechenden Geruch und eine angenehme Süsse. Auf der Zunge leicht spritzig, aber nicht schlecht. Aber dann kommt der Abgang - der geht leider so gar nicht ... Und hält dummerweise auch noch wirklich lange an.

Posted 3 months ago by Havoc from Bulgaria with 10 ratings

Smell: Just opened bottle – coffee mixed with chocolate cake, brown sugar, caramel - creme, ripe dates, vanilla, slight leather notes mixed with glue notes on the back. There is no harsh alcohol smell at all – it feels like a mellow liquor. This at 46% would have been a lot better as it lacks some punch (IMO)– it feels diluted yet some age definitely shows – complex but weak.

Taste: Quite sweet – molasses sugar mixed with caramel, coffee, dark chocolate, there is a slight bitterness on the back which comes out from the wood even if you can’t really notice the oak. Surprisingly smooth and interestingly - has a somewhat long sweet leathery aftertaste.

Posted 3 months ago by bat_svil from Bulgaria with 31 ratings

Pleasant drink, but without special unfolding aromas. Definitely not in the morning of the 15th. rum

Posted 4 months ago by Sempai7 from Denmark with 24 ratings

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx