Pixan 8-Year rum

Pixan 8-Year

Mexico | Aged

5.5/10
38 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
16
9
8
1

Rate Pixan 8-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

38 Pixan 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) 🇸🇪 | 324 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

I had just a sample so this is just a first impression, but I don’t think I will be digging deeper into it.
It’s produced by the distillery Espritus in Monterrey, Mexico. Pixan is their only brand. Pixan is Mayan and means ‘Spirit which gives life’.
The rum is said to be produced from molasses in a double column still and then aged for up to 8 years in American ex-bourbon barrels.
From nose to finish, which is medium long, it’s possible to recognize vanilla, fruits and herbal notes.
Can not really say what it is due to, but this rum does not appeal to me.
Picture: My emptied sample.

Wahlman 🇸🇪 | 48 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

Tror nog att mexico ska hålla sig till tequila, denna var ok med cola men inte mer än så.

Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) 🇨🇿 | 537 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

- ve vůni je cítit dozrávání v sudech po víně, první dojem až ostrá, ale u dalších zmizí, možná nechat chvíli vydýchat, višně se hlásí dost výrazně
- chuť dost nasládlá, ostřejší, opět višně, závěr nahořklý, ale není špatný...

Jan Staněk 🇨🇿 | 121 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

I was surprised how good it is, even though it's from Mexico. Not top tier, but good enough.

Harrie 🇳🇱 | 91 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

A very sweet nose with vanilla, fried banana and some more acidic fruits. Not really a sugar bomb but a little too much for the tannines and woody flavours so in the end it doesn't have enough backbone and will become boring. For a single glass it is a nice change of flavours though, just too sweet for my taste.

Jason 🇺🇸 | 123 ratings
Posted 14 days ago

The nose has subtle hints of vanilla, some spice, molasses, and something herbal. Fairly smooth on the tongue with minimal burn, notes of sweetness, oak, vanilla. The finish is mild and has a bit of a rough finish. Overall, decent and has some potential.

Dhelliwell (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 44 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

Had an off flavor like mildew or must. The rest of the flavors were not particularly good. Not a rum to drink neat.

Anthony C 🇺🇸 | 186 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

Very subtle fruit and sweetness. Light on the palate.

Corneliusl 🇳🇴 | 89 ratings
Posted 3 months ago

It wasn’t too bad, but I was surprised how sweet it was. I suspect added sugar.

Rinushorn (PREMIUM) 🇫🇷 | 127 ratings
Posted 6 months ago

Un Rum spicy qui se déguste tranquillement. Manque d'originalité mais la bouteille est sympa




Brand Details

Name: 8-Year
Company: Pixan
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 8

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading