Posting your rating...
Myers's Original Dark rum

Myers's Original Dark

Jamaica | Dark

Myer’s Original Dark Rum is a blend of up to nine different rums of various ages, all of which are distilled using Jamaica's typical production method: pot-stills. The Original Dark Rum is slightly unique in Jamaica however, because some of the molasses used earlier in the process is added back in after distillation.

Myers rum has been produced since 1879 and named after its founder, Fred Myers.

5.6/10
332 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
10
14
28
65
97
72
28
9
5

Rate Myers's Original Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

332 Myers's Original Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Rodney from Albania with 24 ratings

Interesting taste best drank with sprite or coke. Something to order in a bar and plan to drink a lot. It tastes better the more you drink.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by DelectaBlee from United States with 59 ratings

Revised: This was the first really flavorful rum I tried. It's a common ingredient in tiki drinks, many of which rely on a blend of rums, cordials and other flavorings along with juice and it does well here. I've also enjoyed a splash of this in tea. Stright up it tastes a little harsh so while it's not a sipping rum, it's a reliable mixer with a pungent flaver so it's always on my shelf.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Chris Williamson from Canada with 81 ratings

This is a nice but very traditional strong rum flavour. Not for those people who don't want there rum tasting like rum

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by JE Tressler from United States with 18 ratings

If you like rum and coke this is a great full bodied rum. The aroma is great as is the rather strong spicy taste. I like it with an ice cube or two.


Be cool,
jt

“Mon amie laissez le bon temps rouler!”



Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Rob Bratney from United States with 8 ratings

If you're into making tiki drinks at home as much as I am, then you'll pretty much always have a bottle of this stuff around. Great dark rum for mixing. A nice amount of funk, spice, and sweetness. About as good a bottle of $20 rum there is for my money.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

I cant say I liked anything about this rum, but I also cant say anything bad about it either. Not my first choice but a decent all around rum. I drank this on ice and it went down like water.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by thefatrumpirate from United Kingdom with 122 ratings

and tasty mixing rum. Nothing too special but solid enough

http://thefatrumpirate.wordpress.com/

https://twitter.com/thefatrumpirate

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Tim from United States with 11 ratings

I found this way too harsh to drink with cola (diet pepsi), as it gave a medicinal taste. Im sure it has its fans, but i dont see the appeal. If this was the only rum available, id rather spend my money on a decent bottle of rye.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Helena Tiare from Sweden with 110 ratings

One of the staples for tropical and tiki drinks. It`s not among the best, not at all but some tiki drinks just need this rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by YY from Japan with 9 ratings

Affordable.Sweet.
I recommend to the mix.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Shane from United States with 26 ratings

Not anything I would drink neat. However, a staple for the dark & stormy. Not really my rum for any other mixer. I would agree it is good as floater...because it packs a wallop.