Myers's Original Dark rum

Myers's Original Dark

Jamaica | Dark

Myerโ€™s Original Dark Rum is a blend of up to nine different rums of various ages, all of which are distilled using Jamaica's typical production method: pot-stills. The Original Dark Rum is slightly unique in Jamaica however, because some of the molasses used earlier in the process is added back in after distillation.

Myers rum has been produced since 1879 and named after its founder, Fred Myers.

5.7/10
353 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
6
10
15
30
67
104
77
30
9
5

Rate Myers's Original Dark

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

353 Myers's Original Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

B ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 23 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

Love this stuff. Good strong Jamaican rum right here. Mixes well like everyone else has already said. A bit bitter.

Dan Ozga ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 4 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

This is a dark sweet rum that pairs perfect with coke a cola. This should be in all houses for a great go to.

Andy (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 120 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Pretty much sweet molasses with a bad bite if straight. I don't particularly fancy it with code either - almost a fake sweet after taste. Think I'll stick with Plantation or a few others as coke mixers.

PapaKielbasa ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 38 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

Great slightly muted jamaican flavor, oaky, molasses, and sweetness makes this one of the best. Certainly for the price point and availability. This is in every liquor store in North America and just about every bar.

daquiri_lover ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 4 ratings
Posted 6 months ago

Classic Jamaican dark rum, not a high-end rum but good price, mixes well and makes a nice drink, I also like the dark rectangular glass bottle. I gave it a 7 out of 10.

Sharty ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 3 ratings
Posted 8 months ago

I mean this stuff is pretty bad, especially given the price. The artificial whatevers they put into it are quite obvious. The best part of it is the second quarter which hints at a molasses that might be palatable but never fulfills its promise and then degrades into a mishmash of artificial additives.

If you're looking for a mixer just go bottom shelf generic. There's no point to this one.

Arthur Dijkstra ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฑ | 5 ratings
Posted 9 months ago

I'm not to good yet on the rum scene. But it's not a smooth one!

Norbs_mru ๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡บ | 1 rating
Posted 9 months ago

Nice dark Jamaican rhum. Easy to drink - just on ice.

Dwight ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 5 ratings
Posted 10 months ago

I don't care for the strong flavor of this rum as a primary flavor, but I'll add just 1/2 oz. to a cocktail for a bit of that Jamaican funk. So the bottle should last me a long time.

Polou ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ท | 60 ratings
Posted 10 months ago

This rum is a traditional dark rum from Jamaica. With the addition of molasses in the barrel during aging.

The nose is very fruity and we also smell molasses.
In mouth you can feel: molasses, ans vanilla slightly.

It is a very fragrant rum but not for sipping in my opinion. Itโ€™s excellent for cocktails. I take it regularly to replace Bacardi or Captain Morgan.

Tikihead ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 9 ratings
Posted 12 months ago

Another great rum for mixing on a budget. I like to use it in my everyday Mai Tai along with Cruzan Gold (now called dark for some reason). Good in a rum and coke.




Brand Details

Name: Original Dark
Company: Myers's
Type: Dark
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading

Loading