Privateer Navy Yard Barrel Proof rum

Privateer Navy Yard Barrel Proof

United States | Aged

Privateer Navy Yard Barrel Proof rum, a 100% Grade A molasses-based rum that is double-distilled like the Amber rum, proofed down to 110 proof, and then aged a minimum of two years in new charred American oak barrels (char #3). Bottled at cask strength with no added sweeteners, colors, or flavors.

via American Rum Report
8.1/10
21 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
7
7
3

Rate Privateer Navy Yard Barrel Proof

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

21 Privateer Navy Yard Barrel Proof ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Mpmiller02050 🇺🇸 | 2 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Super complex, no frills, delicious aged rum. Such an understated spirit when done in this manner. I’ve really only delved into rums less than the $50 range and this is my favorite so far. Great balance of clementine, oak, and a super pleasant boozy/smoky finish.

piratejabez 🇺🇸 | 324 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

[171130] 58% ABV - New oak only? (no clue) Very warm, rich, and spicy, like a strong Bajan. Really draws you in. Very warming and somewhat astringent. Long finish. Highly enjoyable.

This is hands-down the best American-made rum I've ever had. Like the Cocktail Wonk, it has just about single-handedly restored my faith in American rum. The whole Privateer lineup is a glimmer of hope in a sea of disappointment. If I ever see a bottle of this on the shelf, it's going home with me.

Really, really good stuff. Well done, Ms. Campbell!

9

(I have "P88" in my notes; maybe the barrel or batch #?)

[190502] Update: I got to try another sample, this time from P152. 56.3%. Same impression as before: Foursquare-like, but somehow richer and smoother. Perhaps not as complex? The new oak comes through, and even at 113 proof it just glides down your throat. An absolute pleasure. Still a 9. Thanks, Maggie (& Gil)!

waveril 🇨🇿 | 8 ratings
Posted 8 months ago

I picked Navy Yard as a starting rum for tasting with my friends (see picture) and it was probably the biggest surprise for me. I has a very simple yet nice oaky taste and smell with medium long after taste. It was praised mostly by whisky lovers. Definitely worth a try as an interesting virgin oak ageing rum!

Immiketoo (PREMIUM) 🇬🇷 | 60 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

I’ve been waiting for some time to get my hands on anything from Privateer. I’ve been hoping for a bottle of Queen’s Share but I’m glad this is what I got first!

This bottle is well worth the wait. I am a fan of overproof rums, so much so, that normal 40% versions rarely do it for me anymore.

So, if you don’t like them a bit hot, this may be too much.

The nose is straightforward. Molasses, vanilla and pepper.

Palate: I get a strong banana flavor immediately, combined with a bit of a cough syrup flavor. Like when you breathe after taking some. It’s not unpleasant, and it adds some complexity to the initial impression.

After the initial banana, the flavor evolves into molasses, vanilla and pepper with a hint of orange or lemon zest. It has a long, complex, peppery cotton candy finish and a strong burn, which I mentioned before.

This is one of my new favorites. At this price, it’s an excellent sipper, and I can’t wait to try it in a few cocktails.

Docsarvis (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 347 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Very nice navy style rum. I like the queens share just a little better but it is a different style rum. Great complexity in this one, very smooth and packs a punch as a Navy rum should. Very clean finish which stays on the pallet a long time. This is a good sipper also. One review suggested this as a mixer. That would be a BIG mistake.Privateer Navy Yard is equally good on ice or neat and is exceptional all by itself. Even better with a cigar.
Great stuff. This distillery produces awesome spirits. Full stop. You can't go wrong with Privateer.

scottlalib 🇺🇸 | 13 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

An unpretentious, edgy sipper that stands up to ice, lime, or absolutely nothing. It’s one of the few rums that I will actually bring DOWN to the islands with me. Worth a sip, but make sure you have someone to drive you home.

Joe 🇺🇸 | 42 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

I toured the Privateer distillery last week. The hospitality was remarkable and I learned a lot. I was able to sample Silver, Amber, Navy Yard, 2 versions of the Queen’s Share and 3 Single Barrel iterations. They all had something going on.I chose the Navy. It was the lingering flavor that sealed the deal. I score it an 8 because I’m trying to conservative and have never done this before. I have around 30 rums at home and this is one of the best. Others can describe their impressions better than I so I’ll leave it at that.

Michal Ernest 🇨🇿 | 126 ratings
Posted 6 months ago

V tomto rumu cítím ve vůni něco trochu sladkého. Po kouknutí do pomocného kolečka vůní si upřesňuji, že je to nejspíše máslo a máslové karamelky. V chuti je to ale pravý opak, nástup hned od začátku s odezněním jakoby do meruněk, nebo spíše zkvašené meruňkové marmelády. Asi nejsem pro tento typ rumů prozatím vhodným konzumentem. Vzorek jsem dostal od člověka, kterému jsem chtěl darovat vzorek CARONI 21.

Gotta 🇨🇿 | 9 ratings
Posted 10 months ago

K tomuto rumu jsem si chvíli hledal cestu, ale nakonec musím uznat jeho kvalitu. Mladý, ostřejší, plný mléčné čokolády. Kdo má rád poctivé rumy třeba od R. Seala, bude velmi spokojen i s prací M. Campbell.

Rowdy1 🇺🇸 | 21 ratings
Posted 11 months ago

Very smooth for the proof, first sip will wake up your mouth. Great flavors of vanilla, oak and toffee. My go to Navy strength.