Background Image
Preload image
Privateer Navy Yard Barrel Proof rum

Privateer Navy Yard Barrel Proof

United States | Aged

Privateer Navy Yard Barrel Proof rum, a 100% Grade A molasses-based rum that is double-distilled like the Amber rum, proofed down to 110 proof, and then aged a minimum of two years in new charred American oak barrels (char #3). Bottled at cask strength with no added sweeteners, colors, or flavors.

via American Rum Report
8.4/10
27 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
10
8
6

Rate Privateer Navy Yard Barrel Proof

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

27 Privateer Navy Yard Barrel Proof Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Mpmiller02050 🇺🇸 | 2 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

Super complex, no frills, delicious aged rum. Such an understated spirit when done in this manner. I’ve really only delved into rums less than the $50 range and this is my favorite so far. Great balance of clementine, oak, and a super pleasant boozy/smoky finish.

piratejabez 🇺🇸 | 322 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

[171130] 58% ABV - New oak only? (no clue) Very warm, rich, and spicy, like a strong Bajan. Really draws you in. Very warming and somewhat astringent. Long finish. Highly enjoyable.

This is hands-down the best American-made rum I've ever had. Like the Cocktail Wonk, it has just about single-handedly restored my faith in American rum. The whole Privateer lineup is a glimmer of hope in a sea of disappointment. If I ever see a bottle of this on the shelf, it's going home with me.

Really, really good stuff. Well done, Ms. Campbell!

9

(I have "P88" in my notes; maybe the barrel or batch #?)

[190502] Update: I got to try another sample, this time from P152. 56.3%. Same impression as before: Foursquare-like, but somehow richer and smoother. Perhaps not as complex? The new oak comes through, and even at 113 proof it just glides down your throat. An absolute pleasure. Still a 9. Thanks, Maggie (& Gil)!

waveril 🇨🇿 | 8 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

I picked Navy Yard as a starting rum for tasting with my friends (see picture) and it was probably the biggest surprise for me. I has a very simple yet nice oaky taste and smell with medium long after taste. It was praised mostly by whisky lovers. Definitely worth a try as an interesting virgin oak ageing rum!

Immiketoo 🇬🇷 | 60 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

I’ve been waiting for some time to get my hands on anything from Privateer. I’ve been hoping for a bottle of Queen’s Share but I’m glad this is what I got first!

This bottle is well worth the wait. I am a fan of overproof rums, so much so, that normal 40% versions rarely do it for me anymore.

So, if you don’t like them a bit hot, this may be too much.

The nose is straightforward. Molasses, vanilla and pepper.

Palate: I get a strong banana flavor immediately, combined with a bit of a cough syrup flavor. Like when you breathe after taking some. It’s not unpleasant, and it adds some complexity to the initial impression.

After the initial banana, the flavor evolves into molasses, vanilla and pepper with a hint of orange or lemon zest. It has a long, complex, peppery cotton candy finish and a strong burn, which I mentioned before.

This is one of my new favorites. At this price, it’s an excellent sipper, and I can’t wait to try it in a few cocktails.

Docsarvis (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 502 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

Very nice navy style rum. I like the queens share just a little better but it is a different style rum. Great complexity in this one, very smooth and packs a punch as a Navy rum should. Very clean finish which stays on the pallet a long time. This is a good sipper also. One review suggested this as a mixer. That would be a BIG mistake.Privateer Navy Yard is equally good on ice or neat and is exceptional all by itself. Even better with a cigar.
Great stuff. This distillery produces awesome spirits. Full stop. You can't go wrong with Privateer.

scottlalib 🇺🇸 | 13 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

An unpretentious, edgy sipper that stands up to ice, lime, or absolutely nothing. It’s one of the few rums that I will actually bring DOWN to the islands with me. Worth a sip, but make sure you have someone to drive you home.

Joe 🇺🇸 | 42 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

I toured the Privateer distillery last week. The hospitality was remarkable and I learned a lot. I was able to sample Silver, Amber, Navy Yard, 2 versions of the Queen’s Share and 3 Single Barrel iterations. They all had something going on.I chose the Navy. It was the lingering flavor that sealed the deal. I score it an 8 because I’m trying to conservative and have never done this before. I have around 30 rums at home and this is one of the best. Others can describe their impressions better than I so I’ll leave it at that.

ZumoDeCaña 🇺🇸 | 2 ratings
Posted 4 months ago

Based on just looks, the colour itself is incredible. The bottle itself is also very eye catching and beautiful. This rum is certainly unlike anything I've ever had before. On the palate, it's very heavy with molasses, then butterscotch, vanilla, maple, and cane sugar. It leaves a nice spicy, but smooth finish too that nicely lingers on your palate. For the aroma, turbinado cane sugar takes the lead, followed by molasses, smokey maple syrup, and cinnamony persimmon on the very end. This rum is way too nice for mixed drinks, it's definitely meant to be enjoyed neat, with good friends or family. Be careful, though it's much stronger than you might think and can knock you on your butt pretty quick. The only downside of this is that outside of New England it's like pulling teeth trying to find it.

Alas 🇵🇷 | 503 ratings
Posted 11 months ago

What an amazing rum, best privateer Ive tasted so far with toasted caramel nose, molasses and wood notes on taste and slight burn on finish.

rumrunner 🇺🇸 | 46 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Truly everything you want and need in a dark rum. Perfect for sipping as it’s smooth, complex, and keeps you wanting more. Ultra smooth for 115% and loaded with molasses sweetness that comes through almost like a very nice dark chocolate. A little oak taste along with browned banana to round it off. Not to mention the owner of the distillery is a purist and never adds additional sweetener or coloring to any of his rums. Be sure to snag a bottle if you see it and definitely drop by the distillery if you’re ever in the area.