Mount Gilboa Triple Distilled rum

Mount Gilboa Triple Distilled

Barbados | Light

6.5/10
9 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
3
2
1

Rate Mount Gilboa Triple Distilled

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image

9 Mount Gilboa Triple Distilled ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Jan-Helge Bergesen πŸ‡³πŸ‡΄ | 10 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

I'm almost entirely sure it's a separate firm? As noted in http://www.refinedvices.com/mount-gilboa, the distillery provides Mount Gay rum, but Mount Gilboa is (in my opinion) a different animal.
The tripple pot-distilled process actually makes for quite a complex pallate.
I'd recommend it without a second thought :-)

DevilsChariot πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 4 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

You're going to enjoy this one. Not as bold as Smith & Cross navy rum but unlike many rums you'll come across. It's not an old aged ultra refined sipper but it's pleasant on ice, but where it come alive is how it interacts with other mixers I like lime, orange, cola and so on. Bring a big punch to your rum punch, make cola seem top shelf, and also good with a splash of ginger ale on ice. A great addition to your Tiki bar.

piratejabez πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 324 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

40% ABV. 100% pot-distilled. Lightly aged notes with some caramel and a touch of cherry. Very much like a Last Ward lite. Strange gassy, rubbery odor keeps things interesting. Not bad at all; a nice foil to Mt. Gay's blended rums.

7+

Joola69 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 2986 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Tried the Mount Gilboa on a sunny Sunday afternoon. Very cheap looking bottle and label design. Light golden color. Strong fruitiness combined with alcohol smell to the nose. Vanilla mixed with spices and fruits to the palate. Mediocre burn at the end.

Michael Huff πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 100 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Not exceptional, but a good introduction to a light unaged rum.

Mo McGurk πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 215 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

This one wasn't for me. It had an odd aftertaste; almost medicinal.

JackOrion πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 61 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

This is a whole other beast from the Mount Gay rum. Triple pot distilled with zero column influence. I wouldn't go so far as to say it's inline with Jam pot rums such as Smith and Cross though it does have plenty of kick, especially for a watered down 40%. Though it's purely pot distilled there are none of the funky esters that come from the muck of a dunder pit. Yet the same fruit notes found in Smith and Cross are here as well, burnt banana, pinnaple and orange zest.
Initial nosing is a bit overpowering and I can maybe see why the pedestrian proof but with just a short amount of time it opens up and softens.
Compared to other sub $30 rums this is really good and surprising in profile. Down the middle leaning towards the dry side.

YMHC πŸ‡³πŸ‡± | 162 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

herkomst: Barbados
distilleerderij: Mount Gay
kleur: bruin
abv: 40%
aroma: fruit, kruiden, vanille, heftig.
smaak: zoethout, kruiden, vanille, alcohol en karamel.
nasmaak: zoetig, kruiden, karamel, droog.

Smaakvolle, zachte, 100% koperen pot still Bajan rum. 3x gedistilleerd en 4 jaar gerijpt op Bourbon vaten. Een beetje jong nog dacht ik maar toch al interessant en zacht genoeg om puur te drinken.

Een prima traditionele rum zonder toegevoegde suiker, echt top!

Gwawr πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 27 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

But still pretty nice.




Brand Details

Name: Triple Distilled
Company: Mount Gilboa
Type: Light
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading