Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Mount Gay XO Extra Old rum

Mount Gay XO Extra Old

RA
had this rum recently

Barbados | Aged | 40% ABV

Mount Gay Extra Old (often written "OX") is a blend of rums aged between 8 and 15 years in American bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay Distilleries is the oldest operating distillery in the Americas - producing rum in Barbados since 1703. It's original name was Mount Gilboa, and in 1801 renamed Mount Gay after the distillery's manager Sir John Gay Alleyne.

7.8/10
753 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
0
3
8
14
40
178
318
160
31

Rate Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

753 Mount Gay XO Extra Old Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Corneliusl ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ด | 89 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

A really pleasant vanilla taste, good body, mellow aftertaste!

Surfyguitar ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 56 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

Reasonably smooth and complex. Bought on sale, waiting for next sale.

Lloyd johnson ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 3 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

i was given a bottle for Christmas last year and thought I would try on New Year's Eve. Hal a bottle later I decided it was one of the smoothest I have ever tasted with a lovely warmth and depth.

AP ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ฎ | 9 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

My overall winner, great for the money, holds complexity and flavours.

Casi 1896 ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ช | 24 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

Fรผr mich ein toller Rum aus Barbados - sehr geschmacksvoll . Als Sipping Rum geeignet.

LD ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡น | 34 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

good rum, nothing bad but for me there is better than this in the same category

Zachary Chapman ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 1 rating
Posted over 9 years ago

Color: reddish gold

Nose: Oh yes, there's so much going on here. Just for starters I'm getting maple syrup, burnt brown sugar, ripe persimmons, apples, vanilla, oak sap, sawdust. Adding a drop of water turns things creamier, cola and cream soda come through.
Thick oily legs slowly stroll down the sides of the glass.

Taste: similar to nose with strong baked apples, brown sugar, cola. Medium finish that's very good but the nose is the main attraction here. Well done!

toblo ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 25 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

aunque no es el 1706, este ron esta a su altura, esta alrededor de $30, pruรฉbenlo y no se arrepentiran

Yuichiro Shimura ๐Ÿ‡ฏ๐Ÿ‡ต | 5 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

Not too sweet, and it has complex tastes. One of the my best favorite rum in this price range.

Dai ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 15 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

One hell of a good rum and worth buying. IF you are looking for a rum that's not been played like adding extra sugar then go for this it has none.

Kenneth ๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ท | 17 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

Took a tour of the Mount Gay Distillery in Barbados and liked OX over the 1703. It was more appealing to my palate and at less than half the price....




Brand Details

Type: Aged
Company: Mount Gay
Country: Barbados
ABV: 40%
Name: XO Extra Old
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Pure blend (1 distillery)
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: Yes

Professional Reviews

1. RumRatings
Loading...