Mount Gay XO Extra Old rum

Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Barbados | Aged | 40.0% ABV

Mount Gay Extra Old (often written "OX") is a blend of rums aged between 8 and 15 years in American bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay Distilleries is the oldest operating distillery in the Americas - producing rum in Barbados since 1703. It's original name was Mount Gilboa, and in 1801 renamed Mount Gay after the distillery's manager Sir John Gay Alleyne.

7.8/10
708 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
7
14
36
171
297
150
29

Rate Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

708 Mount Gay XO Extra Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

boyblueau 🇦🇺 | 51 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

There is nothing better than this for the price. You can head upstream but there's diminishing returns for the amount of money you have to spend. I have a bottle of this always. This rum does what many more expensive rums can't, that is remain smooth without added sugar. Compared to the Plantation 20th or the Diplomatico or El Dorado it's not as sweet but it's also unadulterated and more complex. This should be your benchmark.

Stephen 🇺🇸 | 10 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Mount Gay XO is truly a special rum. Not sweet like some other aged rums. Gives you that "real" rum flavor but smooth and delicious. This must've been the type of rum that the was the "special bottle" the pirate captain would keep hidden in his cabin. Outstanding.

Eric 🇺🇸 | 7 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

This was a great rum. Not as sweet as previous rums such as El Dorado, but great. Reminiscent of a good scotch. Scotch drinkers will love this one. Phenomenal complex aroma that gets better as it sits in the glass longer. Drink straight up!

Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) 🇸🇪 | 332 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Cause it was just a sample it’s a little bit hard to review it, so this is just a first impression. I will have to come back if and when I make a deeper test.
I can definitely imagine digging deeper into this rum.
The nose is nice after warmed up.
On the palate I can recognize some spices, vanilla and chocolate.
The finish is relatively short.
Overall it’s a quite mild and complex rum with a good balance between sweetness and dryness.
Picture: My finished sample.

Cowboy Neal 🇺🇸 | 31 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Good choice for starting out, not too expensive, and gives you a good representation of ages rums

Michael Shell 🇺🇸 | 4 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

My brother poured me a sample of this the other day. I have spent much more time appreciating scotch than I have rum (this may start to change ;-) It did have a sort of earthiness and smokiness reminiscent of a scotch. I enjoyed that very much!

Allan Bjerreskov 🇩🇰 | 116 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Nothing too special in my opinion. A rum for your standard evening sip - not the special occasions.

Hefron 🇨🇿 | 117 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Neskutečně hladký a jemný rum. Dubový sud se snoubí s lahodnou vůní vanilky, banánů a tabáku. Není zbytečně sladký ale i přesto velmi jemný.

SaidWhatWhen 🇺🇸 | 9 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Mount Gay XO screams excellence. Great balance of spice flavors, sweetness, oak. This rum has it all. Almost impossible to pin a style to it, other than it should be what you conjure in your head when you say rum.

Heliumiami 🇺🇸 | 4 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

I often have my wife pour me something at random from the "cabinet" when I get home after work. Since I have few bottles of rum, but plenty of bourbon, I was initially misled into thinking that was what she had poured, due to the deep, rich color in the glass. What really struck me as I was trying to discern which "bourbon" my wife had poured for me, was how much brown sugar was coming through, in addition to the more staid, but still enjoyable, flavours of leather and old, wood-paneled office/study. But that brown sugar wasn't the cloying sweetness of something added; it came straight through from the distillate and barrel wood. My discovery that it was Mount Gay XO has only added to my enjoyment of this bottle. Blind tastings often help me to discover things in a drink that my expectations might be hiding. Mount Gay has a ton going for it, and lot's more to be discovered.