Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Mount Gay XO Extra Old rum

Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Barbados | Aged | 40% ABV

Mount Gay Extra Old (often written "OX") is a blend of rums aged between 8 and 15 years in American bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay Distilleries is the oldest operating distillery in the Americas - producing rum in Barbados since 1703. It's original name was Mount Gilboa, and in 1801 renamed Mount Gay after the distillery's manager Sir John Gay Alleyne.

7.8/10
753 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
0
3
8
14
40
178
318
160
31

Rate Mount Gay XO Extra Old

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

753 Mount Gay XO Extra Old Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Corneliusl 🇳🇴 | 89 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

A really pleasant vanilla taste, good body, mellow aftertaste!

Cowboy Neal 🇺🇸 | 31 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Good choice for starting out, not too expensive, and gives you a good representation of ages rums

boyblueau 🇦🇺 | 59 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

There is nothing better than this for the price. You can head upstream but there's diminishing returns for the amount of money you have to spend. I have a bottle of this always. This rum does what many more expensive rums can't, that is remain smooth without added sugar. Compared to the Plantation 20th or the Diplomatico or El Dorado it's not as sweet but it's also unadulterated and more complex. This should be your benchmark.

Stephen 🇺🇸 | 10 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Mount Gay XO is truly a special rum. Not sweet like some other aged rums. Gives you that "real" rum flavor but smooth and delicious. This must've been the type of rum that the was the "special bottle" the pirate captain would keep hidden in his cabin. Outstanding.

Michael Shell 🇺🇸 | 4 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

My brother poured me a sample of this the other day. I have spent much more time appreciating scotch than I have rum (this may start to change ;-) It did have a sort of earthiness and smokiness reminiscent of a scotch. I enjoyed that very much!

Eric 🇺🇸 | 7 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

This was a great rum. Not as sweet as previous rums such as El Dorado, but great. Reminiscent of a good scotch. Scotch drinkers will love this one. Phenomenal complex aroma that gets better as it sits in the glass longer. Drink straight up!

Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) 🇸🇪 | 526 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Cause it was just a sample it’s a little bit hard to review it, so this is just a first impression. I will have to come back if and when I make a deeper test.
I can definitely imagine digging deeper into this rum.
The nose is nice after warmed up.
On the palate I can recognize some spices, vanilla and chocolate.
The finish is relatively short.
Overall it’s a quite mild and complex rum with a good balance between sweetness and dryness.
Picture: My finished sample.

martin jeppesen 🇩🇰 | 256 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

The aroma is very nice and fruity. It has a powerfull palate, with a fair amount of oak. Though fairly spicy, it's still quite smoothe, with subtle notes of molasse and burnt banana. It has a long and warming afterburn. If you feel like a break from the sweeter rums, i find this a recommendable choice.

Allan Bjerreskov 🇩🇰 | 116 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

Nothing too special in my opinion. A rum for your standard evening sip - not the special occasions.

Hefron 🇨🇿 | 116 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Neskutečně hladký a jemný rum. Dubový sud se snoubí s lahodnou vůní vanilky, banánů a tabáku. Není zbytečně sladký ale i přesto velmi jemný.

SaidWhatWhen 🇺🇸 | 9 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Mount Gay XO screams excellence. Great balance of spice flavors, sweetness, oak. This rum has it all. Almost impossible to pin a style to it, other than it should be what you conjure in your head when you say rum.




Brand Details

Type: Aged
Company: Mount Gay
Country: Barbados
ABV: 40%
Name: XO Extra Old
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Pure blend (1 distillery)
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: Yes

Professional Reviews

1. RumRatings
Loading...