Mount Gay Eclipse rum

Mount Gay Eclipse

Barbados | Gold

Mount Gay Eclipse rum is produced from molasses that is double distilled and aged up to 2 years in white Kentucky oak ex bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay is the oldest existing rum brand in the world, with it's oldest surviving deed being from 1703. The company developed the use of traditional double copper pot stills, a process that has been in continuous use by Mount Gay ever since its founding. The company's namesake Sir John Gay Alleyne was a good friend of John Sober who purchased the then Mount Gilboa distilleries in 1747.

6.3/10
425 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
6
11
58
157
146
28
10
6

Rate Mount Gay Eclipse

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

425 Mount Gay Eclipse ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 10 months ago by rtbiscuit πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 16 ratings

Everyone seems to rave about mount gay, it's found in all the bars, bit having tried it, I'd say it's not that great. Don't like the spice balance used, not a fan of the flavour, there are plenty of other rims I'd pick up before this.

Posted 5 years ago by Mike πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 25 ratings

Of the rums you can find in a poorly stocked grocery store this is one of the better ones.

Posted over 5 years ago by Russell πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 25 ratings

So I am in the liquor store, looking over the poor selections of rums and some guy buzz's in front of me grabs a bottle of Monarch rum ,$ 7.95 , bottom shelf, so I say Hey for $4.00 dollars more you can get Cruzan made in the carribean, not in Hood River ,Oregon, here I'll even give you the $4, So he looks at me like I'm nuts rushes up to counter and leaves to go start a fire with the Monarch lighter fluid.

Posted over 6 years ago by Nicoakr πŸ‡«πŸ‡· | 106 ratings

Basic rum with a good balance of spices. Nose is a bit aggressive initially then get towards chocolate and vanilla aromas. Mouth is balanced, slightly oaky and aligned with the nose. Alcoholic tail..

Posted 5 years ago by Demno πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ | 92 ratings

I love Mount Gay rums, I have the Old Cask 1703 (10/10), I have the XO (8/10) and this one I just bought while travelling and you can still enjoy sipping it... has a lot of flavors for the price and still no added sugar.

Its is a good rum... with Mount Gay you never are disappointed.

Posted over 5 years ago by Wayne Upton πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 136 ratings

This rum is solid enough, and when I first started with rum, I thought it quite good. Until I tasted some other Bajan rums. Not to disrespect-- more to add context. It's good, but not great.

Posted over 5 years ago by Peter Raymond πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 9 ratings

This is a good utility Rum. I like it mixed with Ginger Ale and a slice of Lime.

Posted over 5 years ago by David πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 11 ratings

This is a great rum for mixing. However, I typically drink rum neat. So here is my description. It has a mild alcohol scent. Drinking it I notice at first a strong punch of alcohol, but it only lingers a few seconds from the finish. After the first few sips I barely notice the alcohol, and continue to enjoy the rum. At the finish I taste a light vanilla hint. The viscosity is light-bodied and thin. It has a golden-saffron color. Overall, smooth and enjoyable for the price. Usually the best choice at poorly stocked bars. Not the best rum, but certainly not the worst!

Posted 1 year ago by Fidotexas πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 2 ratings

George Washington said Barbados rum was best. Well he was right.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Cliff πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 8 ratings

This rum is meant for mixing and not to be sipped. Good for a rum and cola.

Posted 5 years ago by James πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 22 ratings

This isn't a bad sipping rum for those with a few dollars in your wallet. Has a bit of an alcohol bite at first but quickly burns off. Pretty good flavor and worth a return over some lower brands.




Brand Details

Name: Eclipse
Company: Mount Gay
Type: Gold
Distillation: Unknown
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Professional Reviews

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ
2886
2. Kieron wood πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§
558
3. Michal Micko πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ
540
4. Adrian Adame πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ
513