loading

Mount Gay Eclipse rum

Mount Gay Eclipse

Barbados | Gold | 40.0% ABV

6.3/10
453 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
6
13
62
167
155
29
11
6

Rate Mount Gay Eclipse

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

453 Mount Gay Eclipse ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

rtbiscuit πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 16 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Everyone seems to rave about mount gay, it's found in all the bars, bit having tried it, I'd say it's not that great. Don't like the spice balance used, not a fan of the flavour, there are plenty of other rims I'd pick up before this.

Mike πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 25 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Of the rums you can find in a poorly stocked grocery store this is one of the better ones.

Russell πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 25 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

So I am in the liquor store, looking over the poor selections of rums and some guy buzz's in front of me grabs a bottle of Monarch rum ,$ 7.95 , bottom shelf, so I say Hey for $4.00 dollars more you can get Cruzan made in the carribean, not in Hood River ,Oregon, here I'll even give you the $4, So he looks at me like I'm nuts rushes up to counter and leaves to go start a fire with the Monarch lighter fluid.

Peter Raymond πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 9 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

This is a good utility Rum. I like it mixed with Ginger Ale and a slice of Lime.

David πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 11 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

This is a great rum for mixing. However, I typically drink rum neat. So here is my description. It has a mild alcohol scent. Drinking it I notice at first a strong punch of alcohol, but it only lingers a few seconds from the finish. After the first few sips I barely notice the alcohol, and continue to enjoy the rum. At the finish I taste a light vanilla hint. The viscosity is light-bodied and thin. It has a golden-saffron color. Overall, smooth and enjoyable for the price. Usually the best choice at poorly stocked bars. Not the best rum, but certainly not the worst!

Nicoakr πŸ‡«πŸ‡· | 111 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Basic rum with a good balance of spices. Nose is a bit aggressive initially then get towards chocolate and vanilla aromas. Mouth is balanced, slightly oaky and aligned with the nose. Alcoholic tail..

Demno πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ | 92 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

I love Mount Gay rums, I have the Old Cask 1703 (10/10), I have the XO (8/10) and this one I just bought while travelling and you can still enjoy sipping it... has a lot of flavors for the price and still no added sugar.

Its is a good rum... with Mount Gay you never are disappointed.

Wayne Upton πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 136 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

This rum is solid enough, and when I first started with rum, I thought it quite good. Until I tasted some other Bajan rums. Not to disrespect-- more to add context. It's good, but not great.

Fidotexas πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 2 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

George Washington said Barbados rum was best. Well he was right.

Cliff πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 8 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

This rum is meant for mixing and not to be sipped. Good for a rum and cola.

James πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 22 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

This isn't a bad sipping rum for those with a few dollars in your wallet. Has a bit of an alcohol bite at first but quickly burns off. Pretty good flavor and worth a return over some lower brands.