Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Mount Gay Eclipse rum

Mount Gay Eclipse

bar la moura avatar image had this rum recently

Barbados | Gold | 40% ABV

Mount Gay Eclipse rum is produced from molasses that is double distilled and aged up to 2 years in white Kentucky oak ex bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay is the oldest existing rum brand in the world, with it's oldest surviving deed being from 1703. The company developed the use of traditional double copper pot stills, a process that has been in continuous use by Mount Gay ever since its founding. The company's namesake Sir John Gay Alleyne was a good friend of John Sober who purchased the then Mount Gilboa distilleries in 1747.

6.3/10
469 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
6
13
63
173
162
31
11
6

Rate Mount Gay Eclipse

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

469 Mount Gay Eclipse Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

George ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 15 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

Lovely color and rich aroma for this class. Decent on the palate but if taken neat there is alcohol bite; fans could say itโ€™s โ€œpeppery.โ€ Better for mixing with ginger ale or ginger beer, especially when livened with a few drops of bitters.

Bruce Jones ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 17 ratings
Posted over 11 years ago

Nice rum

RumSteve ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 15 ratings
Posted over 11 years ago

my go to product when using this to make spiced rum.

As a product by it-self a mixer for drinks. I wouldn't use this for sipping, a little harsh. Go to the Mount Gay XO for sipping.

Trini Yank ๐Ÿ‡น๐Ÿ‡น | 41 ratings
Posted over 11 years ago

Flavor is excellent and only lacks depth/strength for a higher score. Haven't had the Black yet, but am expecting it will solve this problem. Can be had on the rocks if you don't let the ice melt at all. Terrific mixer, particularly with coconut water or cola.

Don Tucker ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 193 ratings
Posted over 11 years ago

A good mixer, but the upscale Mount Gay products provide no reason to sip this. I like the Speical Reserve and Sugar Cane Rum as well to mix.

LDNShindiggery ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 71 ratings
Posted over 11 years ago

Personal fave in the go to price bracket. Easy drinking, easy mixing versatile amber with a light smoky, vanilla edge and tropical fruits.

Hugh ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 8 ratings
Posted over 11 years ago

A good solid rum with an entertaining name.

Tanya Kempe-Tummon ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 7 ratings
Posted over 11 years ago

If you're served this in a pub you're lucky! A standard rum, but very tasty nonetheless

Biggsy ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 16 ratings
Posted over 11 years ago

I'm a fan of Mount Gay Eclipse. Great smooth taste and good flavour. Not the best in the world but a solid choice.

Shawn Lein ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 34 ratings
Posted over 11 years ago

If you're looking for a gold rum that's light, this really isn't bad. I tried it on the rocks, and it didn't turn me on... or off. But I'm sure it's much better in a mixer.




Brand Details

Type: Gold
Company: Mount Gay
Country: Barbados
Name: Eclipse
ABV: 40%
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Pure blend (1 distillery)
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: Yes

Professional Reviews

Loading...