Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Mount Gay Eclipse rum

Mount Gay Eclipse

Barbados | Gold | 40% ABV

Mount Gay Eclipse rum is produced from molasses that is double distilled and aged up to 2 years in white Kentucky oak ex bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay is the oldest existing rum brand in the world, with it's oldest surviving deed being from 1703. The company developed the use of traditional double copper pot stills, a process that has been in continuous use by Mount Gay ever since its founding. The company's namesake Sir John Gay Alleyne was a good friend of John Sober who purchased the then Mount Gilboa distilleries in 1747.

6.3/10
473 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
7
13
64
174
163
31
11
6

Rate Mount Gay Eclipse

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

473 Mount Gay Eclipse Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Joel πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 9 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Mount Gay Eclipse has a rum aroma, with notes of rum as you drink it, with a warm, cherry-like, rum finish. Okay, you can tell I'm new to drinking, but I love rum, and I love this one. I pour it in an espresso cup with an ice cube and drink this delicious adult beverage after dinner. The name makes me giggle too.

Simple Man πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 10 ratings
Posted almost 11 years ago

Many times in a bar it's Bacardi as the gold, I start looking for the Mount Gay as it seems to be the next popular gold around these parts. It is smoother and more flavorful than the well rum or the Bacardi. It lacks depth, but still brings forth the West Indian earthiness.

Bill Clemens πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 10 ratings
Posted 11 years ago

Great as a mixer with Coke and Lime. Nothing jumped out at me when I sipped it with ice. It's nice but simple.

Scott πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 16 ratings
Posted 11 years ago

Excellent for mixing with coke or tonic. I prefer mine mixed 50/50 with tonic and a lime. I find it a bit harsh to drink straight up but as a mixer it's excellent with great aroma's and not overly sweet like Captain.

Magic πŸ‡³πŸ‡± | 15 ratings
Posted over 11 years ago

this is one of the best rums to drink withe cola

Bruce Jones πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 17 ratings
Posted over 11 years ago

Nice rum

RumSteve πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 15 ratings
Posted over 11 years ago

my go to product when using this to make spiced rum.

As a product by it-self a mixer for drinks. I wouldn't use this for sipping, a little harsh. Go to the Mount Gay XO for sipping.

Trini Yank πŸ‡ΉπŸ‡Ή | 41 ratings
Posted over 11 years ago

Flavor is excellent and only lacks depth/strength for a higher score. Haven't had the Black yet, but am expecting it will solve this problem. Can be had on the rocks if you don't let the ice melt at all. Terrific mixer, particularly with coconut water or cola.

Don Tucker πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 193 ratings
Posted over 11 years ago

A good mixer, but the upscale Mount Gay products provide no reason to sip this. I like the Speical Reserve and Sugar Cane Rum as well to mix.

LDNShindiggery πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 71 ratings
Posted over 11 years ago

Personal fave in the go to price bracket. Easy drinking, easy mixing versatile amber with a light smoky, vanilla edge and tropical fruits.

Hugh πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 8 ratings
Posted over 11 years ago

A good solid rum with an entertaining name.




Brand Details

Type: Gold
Company: Mount Gay
Country: Barbados
ABV: 40%
Name: Eclipse
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Pure blend (1 distillery)
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: Yes

Professional Reviews

1. RumRatings
Loading...