Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Mount Gay Eclipse rum

Mount Gay Eclipse

bar la moura avatar image had this rum recently

Barbados | Gold | 40% ABV

Mount Gay Eclipse rum is produced from molasses that is double distilled and aged up to 2 years in white Kentucky oak ex bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay is the oldest existing rum brand in the world, with it's oldest surviving deed being from 1703. The company developed the use of traditional double copper pot stills, a process that has been in continuous use by Mount Gay ever since its founding. The company's namesake Sir John Gay Alleyne was a good friend of John Sober who purchased the then Mount Gilboa distilleries in 1747.

6.3/10
469 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
6
13
63
173
162
31
11
6

Rate Mount Gay Eclipse

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

469 Mount Gay Eclipse Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

George ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 15 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

Lovely color and rich aroma for this class. Decent on the palate but if taken neat there is alcohol bite; fans could say itโ€™s โ€œpeppery.โ€ Better for mixing with ginger ale or ginger beer, especially when livened with a few drops of bitters.

YY ๐Ÿ‡ฏ๐Ÿ‡ต | 9 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

Perhaps mixing rum.

Amalas ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 71 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

On the rocks tastes like nothing but alcohol. Almost no flavor, which is not what I expected from a non-white rum. Very fire-y. So-so with cola.

Arowbal ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 31 ratings
Posted over 10 years ago

I agree with a previous reviewer who said it is harsh, but a decent mixer. As a sipper it is bad. As a mixer it is a pretty good rum. I would have no problem keeping a bottle of this around for mixing.

Rumbum ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡บ | 4 ratings
Posted over 10 years ago

Goes with everything. Has that Jamaican standard taste. Can't go wrong with this one

Dai ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 15 ratings
Posted over 10 years ago

Can be found in any supermarket. Don't pass it up if you are looking for a nice mixing rum.

Distiller Evan ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 30 ratings
Posted almost 11 years ago

Starting our own distillery, we had to try all of the rums we could get our hands on to figure out our own flavor profiles. This was or rum of choice before we decided to make our own. Trying it straight was an eye opener, very harsh, almost undrinkable but in mixed is a great rum.

Simple Man ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 10 ratings
Posted almost 11 years ago

Many times in a bar it's Bacardi as the gold, I start looking for the Mount Gay as it seems to be the next popular gold around these parts. It is smoother and more flavorful than the well rum or the Bacardi. It lacks depth, but still brings forth the West Indian earthiness.

Bill Clemens ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 10 ratings
Posted 11 years ago

Great as a mixer with Coke and Lime. Nothing jumped out at me when I sipped it with ice. It's nice but simple.

Scott ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 16 ratings
Posted 11 years ago

Excellent for mixing with coke or tonic. I prefer mine mixed 50/50 with tonic and a lime. I find it a bit harsh to drink straight up but as a mixer it's excellent with great aroma's and not overly sweet like Captain.

Magic ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฑ | 15 ratings
Posted 11 years ago

this is one of the best rums to drink withe cola




Brand Details

Type: Gold
Company: Mount Gay
Country: Barbados
Name: Eclipse
ABV: 40%
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Pure blend (1 distillery)
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: Yes

Professional Reviews

Loading...