Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Mount Gay Eclipse rum

Mount Gay Eclipse

Barbados | Gold | 40% ABV

Mount Gay Eclipse rum is produced from molasses that is double distilled and aged up to 2 years in white Kentucky oak ex bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay is the oldest existing rum brand in the world, with it's oldest surviving deed being from 1703. The company developed the use of traditional double copper pot stills, a process that has been in continuous use by Mount Gay ever since its founding. The company's namesake Sir John Gay Alleyne was a good friend of John Sober who purchased the then Mount Gilboa distilleries in 1747.

6.3/10
473 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
7
13
64
174
163
31
11
6

Rate Mount Gay Eclipse

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

473 Mount Gay Eclipse Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Joel πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 9 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Mount Gay Eclipse has a rum aroma, with notes of rum as you drink it, with a warm, cherry-like, rum finish. Okay, you can tell I'm new to drinking, but I love rum, and I love this one. I pour it in an espresso cup with an ice cube and drink this delicious adult beverage after dinner. The name makes me giggle too.

Steven James πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 33 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

Wonderful with coke.....drinkable on it's own. You should never allow yourself to run out!

John πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 16 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

This is another Barbados rum that is worth the money. It's not too sweet, and it is just smooth enough to enjoy on the rocks. Makes a great drink mixed with Vernor's ginger ale.

Bill Gaylor πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 51 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

This is my go too rum. Its good with cola or fruity drinks. Too harsh for sipping or on the rocks with a lime twist. This is a far superior choice to any Bacardi offering for every day use. Unfortunate what im hearing about the companys problems in Barbados.

Thos πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 13 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

I had higher hopes for this rum, it was harsher than I expected but it is still good as a mixing rum

YY πŸ‡―πŸ‡΅ | 9 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

Perhaps mixing rum.

Amalas πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 71 ratings
Posted over 10 years ago

On the rocks tastes like nothing but alcohol. Almost no flavor, which is not what I expected from a non-white rum. Very fire-y. So-so with cola.

Arowbal πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 31 ratings
Posted over 10 years ago

I agree with a previous reviewer who said it is harsh, but a decent mixer. As a sipper it is bad. As a mixer it is a pretty good rum. I would have no problem keeping a bottle of this around for mixing.

Rumbum πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί | 4 ratings
Posted over 10 years ago

Goes with everything. Has that Jamaican standard taste. Can't go wrong with this one

Dai πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 15 ratings
Posted almost 11 years ago

Can be found in any supermarket. Don't pass it up if you are looking for a nice mixing rum.

Distiller Evan πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 30 ratings
Posted almost 11 years ago

Starting our own distillery, we had to try all of the rums we could get our hands on to figure out our own flavor profiles. This was or rum of choice before we decided to make our own. Trying it straight was an eye opener, very harsh, almost undrinkable but in mixed is a great rum.




Brand Details

Type: Gold
Company: Mount Gay
Country: Barbados
ABV: 40%
Name: Eclipse
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Pure blend (1 distillery)
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: Yes

Professional Reviews

1. RumRatings
Loading...