loading

Mount Gay Eclipse rum

Mount Gay Eclipse

Barbados | Gold | 40.0% ABV

6.3/10
453 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
6
13
62
167
155
29
11
6

Rate Mount Gay Eclipse

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

453 Mount Gay Eclipse ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Corneliusl πŸ‡³πŸ‡΄ | 89 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

This is an ok rum. Not great for sipping, but can be put to use in a tiki drink or two.

Simple Man πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 10 ratings
Posted almost 10 years ago

Many times in a bar it's Bacardi as the gold, I start looking for the Mount Gay as it seems to be the next popular gold around these parts. It is smoother and more flavorful than the well rum or the Bacardi. It lacks depth, but still brings forth the West Indian earthiness.

Bill Clemens πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 10 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

Great as a mixer with Coke and Lime. Nothing jumped out at me when I sipped it with ice. It's nice but simple.

Scott πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 16 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

Excellent for mixing with coke or tonic. I prefer mine mixed 50/50 with tonic and a lime. I find it a bit harsh to drink straight up but as a mixer it's excellent with great aroma's and not overly sweet like Captain.

Magic πŸ‡³πŸ‡± | 15 ratings
Posted over 10 years ago

this is one of the best rums to drink withe cola

Bruce Jones πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 17 ratings
Posted over 10 years ago

Nice rum

RumSteve πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 15 ratings
Posted over 10 years ago

my go to product when using this to make spiced rum.

As a product by it-self a mixer for drinks. I wouldn't use this for sipping, a little harsh. Go to the Mount Gay XO for sipping.

Trini Yank πŸ‡ΉπŸ‡Ή | 41 ratings
Posted over 10 years ago

Flavor is excellent and only lacks depth/strength for a higher score. Haven't had the Black yet, but am expecting it will solve this problem. Can be had on the rocks if you don't let the ice melt at all. Terrific mixer, particularly with coconut water or cola.

Don Tucker πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 193 ratings
Posted over 10 years ago

A good mixer, but the upscale Mount Gay products provide no reason to sip this. I like the Speical Reserve and Sugar Cane Rum as well to mix.

LDNShindiggery πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 71 ratings
Posted over 10 years ago

Personal fave in the go to price bracket. Easy drinking, easy mixing versatile amber with a light smoky, vanilla edge and tropical fruits.

Hugh πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 8 ratings
Posted over 10 years ago

A good solid rum with an entertaining name.