Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Mount Gay Eclipse rum

Mount Gay Eclipse

Barbados | Gold | 40% ABV

Mount Gay Eclipse rum is produced from molasses that is double distilled and aged up to 2 years in white Kentucky oak ex bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay is the oldest existing rum brand in the world, with it's oldest surviving deed being from 1703. The company developed the use of traditional double copper pot stills, a process that has been in continuous use by Mount Gay ever since its founding. The company's namesake Sir John Gay Alleyne was a good friend of John Sober who purchased the then Mount Gilboa distilleries in 1747.

6.3/10
473 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
7
13
64
174
163
31
11
6

Rate Mount Gay Eclipse

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

473 Mount Gay Eclipse Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Joel πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 9 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Mount Gay Eclipse has a rum aroma, with notes of rum as you drink it, with a warm, cherry-like, rum finish. Okay, you can tell I'm new to drinking, but I love rum, and I love this one. I pour it in an espresso cup with an ice cube and drink this delicious adult beverage after dinner. The name makes me giggle too.

Brendan S πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 55 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

Nose: Not much
Feel: Syrupy. Little burn. Light
Taste: Sugar, Honey
Presentation: They have changed the bottle (in Canada at least) to the much nicer oval bottle you can see on the other products here on RR.

I could sit this, but prefer the MG:XO (or 1703) too much if I want to sip Bajan rum. This ends up in the mixed drinks which I don't want to waste anything nicer, but still want a solid rum.

Very clean taste, if a little forgettable.

alby πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 7 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

Nice rum if you fancy something dependable, but it is not going to rock your world

Kogfather πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 6 ratings
Posted almost 10 years ago

This is my go to rum and coke. Not a sipper.

If I see this at the bar I'll take it over the regular Captain Morgan or Bacardi Gold that seems to be the other options in most UK bars.

Jamie πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 1 rating
Posted almost 10 years ago

You really can't go wrong, this is a god rum for mixing and straight up

Don Hanini πŸ‡³πŸ‡΄ | 13 ratings
Posted almost 10 years ago

KjΓΈpt pΓ₯ Flesland

Michael Evans πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 83 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

A go-to rum when at a bar with a small selection. A big step up from the majority of the popular rums that are usually found in the same venues at a similar price.

thefatrumpirate πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 121 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

A very forgettable golden mixing rum. Better can be found at a lesser price

mamajuana πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 148 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

This is decent straight and a great mixer for the price point there are other rums I would pick up over this every time.

Ben Mitchell πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί | 18 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

My entry to the "real" rum world, brilliant with tropical fruit juice or in a Cuba Libre

Allan Bjerreskov πŸ‡©πŸ‡° | 116 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

While this will improve your drinks compared to the Bacardi Superior, there is not much to drewl about.




Brand Details

Type: Gold
Company: Mount Gay
Country: Barbados
ABV: 40%
Name: Eclipse
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Pure blend (1 distillery)
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: Yes

Professional Reviews

1. RumRatings
Loading...