loading

Mount Gay Eclipse rum

Mount Gay Eclipse

Barbados | Gold

Mount Gay Eclipse is a rum that has been produced since 1703 in Barbados, using both pot and column stills. It is aged for a minimum of two years in charred American oak barrels and bottled at 40% ABV. The company has a long history of rum-making and is located in Bridgetown, Barbados.

6.3/10
451 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
6
14
61
166
154
29
11
6

Rate Mount Gay Eclipse

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

451 Mount Gay Eclipse ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Joel πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 9 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Mount Gay Eclipse has a rum aroma, with notes of rum as you drink it, with a warm, cherry-like, rum finish. Okay, you can tell I'm new to drinking, but I love rum, and I love this one. I pour it in an espresso cup with an ice cube and drink this delicious adult beverage after dinner. The name makes me giggle too.

Scott πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 16 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

Excellent for mixing with coke or tonic. I prefer mine mixed 50/50 with tonic and a lime. I find it a bit harsh to drink straight up but as a mixer it's excellent with great aroma's and not overly sweet like Captain.

Magic πŸ‡³πŸ‡± | 15 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

this is one of the best rums to drink withe cola

Bruce Jones πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 17 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

Nice rum

RumSteve πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 15 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

my go to product when using this to make spiced rum.

As a product by it-self a mixer for drinks. I wouldn't use this for sipping, a little harsh. Go to the Mount Gay XO for sipping.

Trini Yank πŸ‡ΉπŸ‡Ή | 41 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

Flavor is excellent and only lacks depth/strength for a higher score. Haven't had the Black yet, but am expecting it will solve this problem. Can be had on the rocks if you don't let the ice melt at all. Terrific mixer, particularly with coconut water or cola.

Don Tucker πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 193 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

A good mixer, but the upscale Mount Gay products provide no reason to sip this. I like the Speical Reserve and Sugar Cane Rum as well to mix.

LDNShindiggery πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 71 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

Personal fave in the go to price bracket. Easy drinking, easy mixing versatile amber with a light smoky, vanilla edge and tropical fruits.

Hugh πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 8 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

A good solid rum with an entertaining name.

Tanya Kempe-Tummon πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 7 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

If you're served this in a pub you're lucky! A standard rum, but very tasty nonetheless

Biggsy πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 16 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

I'm a fan of Mount Gay Eclipse. Great smooth taste and good flavour. Not the best in the world but a solid choice.