Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Mount Gay Eclipse rum

Mount Gay Eclipse

Barbados | Gold | 40% ABV

Mount Gay Eclipse rum is produced from molasses that is double distilled and aged up to 2 years in white Kentucky oak ex bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay is the oldest existing rum brand in the world, with it's oldest surviving deed being from 1703. The company developed the use of traditional double copper pot stills, a process that has been in continuous use by Mount Gay ever since its founding. The company's namesake Sir John Gay Alleyne was a good friend of John Sober who purchased the then Mount Gilboa distilleries in 1747.

6.3/10
469 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
6
13
63
173
162
31
11
6

Rate Mount Gay Eclipse

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

469 Mount Gay Eclipse Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Joel 🇺🇸 | 9 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Mount Gay Eclipse has a rum aroma, with notes of rum as you drink it, with a warm, cherry-like, rum finish. Okay, you can tell I'm new to drinking, but I love rum, and I love this one. I pour it in an espresso cup with an ice cube and drink this delicious adult beverage after dinner. The name makes me giggle too.

Charles M 🇬🇧 | 149 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

This is the one that started me off. I used to work in a bottle shop and take 2 or 3 bottles of this home a week. But now, I find it overly commercial and insipid. Best used for mixing. Probably should be a 4 but as it led to the wonderful world of rums, maybe a 4!

bizno 🇫🇷 | 8 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

rhum plutôt dédié cocktail, passe-partout, note épicée

DelectaBlee 🇺🇸 | 59 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

A smooth rum for mixing. Good with cola, flavored sparkling water, rum collins or a rum old fashioned. Flavor is on the light side and not distinctive.

Gary 🇨🇦 | 24 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

This is a nice rum for mixed drinks. Adds its own flavour to drinks. Not really good enough to drink on its own, but still has a great taste.

guewen 🇫🇷 | 97 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

Un tres bon rhum, relativement passe partout, mais au note vanille et de cannele agreable en cocktail !

Chris Williamson 🇨🇦 | 81 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

Better than Bacardi or the captain but has nothing special

Brendan S 🇨🇦 | 55 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

Nose: Not much
Feel: Syrupy. Little burn. Light
Taste: Sugar, Honey
Presentation: They have changed the bottle (in Canada at least) to the much nicer oval bottle you can see on the other products here on RR.

I could sit this, but prefer the MG:XO (or 1703) too much if I want to sip Bajan rum. This ends up in the mixed drinks which I don't want to waste anything nicer, but still want a solid rum.

Very clean taste, if a little forgettable.

alby 🇺🇸 | 7 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

Nice rum if you fancy something dependable, but it is not going to rock your world

Kogfather 🇬🇧 | 6 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

This is my go to rum and coke. Not a sipper.

If I see this at the bar I'll take it over the regular Captain Morgan or Bacardi Gold that seems to be the other options in most UK bars.

Jamie 🇬🇧 | 1 rating
Posted almost 10 years ago

You really can't go wrong, this is a god rum for mixing and straight up




Brand Details

Type: Gold
Company: Mount Gay
Country: Barbados
Name: Eclipse
ABV: 40%
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Pure blend (1 distillery)
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: Yes

Professional Reviews

Loading...