loading

Mount Gay Eclipse rum

Mount Gay Eclipse

Barbados | Gold

Mount Gay Eclipse is a rum that has been produced since 1703 in Barbados, using both pot and column stills. It is aged for a minimum of two years in charred American oak barrels and bottled at 40% ABV. The company has a long history of rum-making and is located in Bridgetown, Barbados.

6.3/10
451 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
6
14
61
166
154
29
11
6

Rate Mount Gay Eclipse

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

451 Mount Gay Eclipse ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Joel πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 9 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Mount Gay Eclipse has a rum aroma, with notes of rum as you drink it, with a warm, cherry-like, rum finish. Okay, you can tell I'm new to drinking, but I love rum, and I love this one. I pour it in an espresso cup with an ice cube and drink this delicious adult beverage after dinner. The name makes me giggle too.

Bill Gaylor πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 51 ratings
Posted almost 9 years ago

This is my go too rum. Its good with cola or fruity drinks. Too harsh for sipping or on the rocks with a lime twist. This is a far superior choice to any Bacardi offering for every day use. Unfortunate what im hearing about the companys problems in Barbados.

Thos πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 13 ratings
Posted 9 years ago

I had higher hopes for this rum, it was harsher than I expected but it is still good as a mixing rum

YY πŸ‡―πŸ‡΅ | 9 ratings
Posted 9 years ago

Perhaps mixing rum.

Amalas πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 69 ratings
Posted 9 years ago

On the rocks tastes like nothing but alcohol. Almost no flavor, which is not what I expected from a non-white rum. Very fire-y. So-so with cola.

Arowbal πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 31 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

I agree with a previous reviewer who said it is harsh, but a decent mixer. As a sipper it is bad. As a mixer it is a pretty good rum. I would have no problem keeping a bottle of this around for mixing.

Rumbum πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί | 4 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

Goes with everything. Has that Jamaican standard taste. Can't go wrong with this one

Dai πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 15 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

Can be found in any supermarket. Don't pass it up if you are looking for a nice mixing rum.

Distiller Evan πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 30 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

Starting our own distillery, we had to try all of the rums we could get our hands on to figure out our own flavor profiles. This was or rum of choice before we decided to make our own. Trying it straight was an eye opener, very harsh, almost undrinkable but in mixed is a great rum.

Simple Man πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 10 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

Many times in a bar it's Bacardi as the gold, I start looking for the Mount Gay as it seems to be the next popular gold around these parts. It is smoother and more flavorful than the well rum or the Bacardi. It lacks depth, but still brings forth the West Indian earthiness.

Bill Clemens πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 10 ratings
Posted almost 10 years ago

Great as a mixer with Coke and Lime. Nothing jumped out at me when I sipped it with ice. It's nice but simple.