Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Mount Gay Eclipse rum

Mount Gay Eclipse

Barbados | Gold | 40% ABV

Mount Gay Eclipse rum is produced from molasses that is double distilled and aged up to 2 years in white Kentucky oak ex bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay is the oldest existing rum brand in the world, with it's oldest surviving deed being from 1703. The company developed the use of traditional double copper pot stills, a process that has been in continuous use by Mount Gay ever since its founding. The company's namesake Sir John Gay Alleyne was a good friend of John Sober who purchased the then Mount Gilboa distilleries in 1747.

6.3/10
473 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
7
13
64
174
163
31
11
6

Rate Mount Gay Eclipse

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

473 Mount Gay Eclipse Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Joel ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 9 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Mount Gay Eclipse has a rum aroma, with notes of rum as you drink it, with a warm, cherry-like, rum finish. Okay, you can tell I'm new to drinking, but I love rum, and I love this one. I pour it in an espresso cup with an ice cube and drink this delicious adult beverage after dinner. The name makes me giggle too.

Hedonist ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ช | 59 ratings
Posted almost 9 years ago

Feel happy if u live in a country, where they sell this in the Bacardy price area, coz it is much better. It can even be a sipper, if the standard is not that high (Parties, after the 10th beer, generally after 4 a.m.)

CBags ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 10 ratings
Posted almost 9 years ago

Eclipse has been the defacto mixer for regatta's since well before I could drink. I used to think it was the bee's knees, but now...I see it for what it really is. It's a decent mixer and sadly not really something you can drink on the rocks or neat

Rayden ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡น | 43 ratings
Posted almost 9 years ago

Good in mixed drinks, but sure you can find better than this at the same price.

Jack ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 16 ratings
Posted almost 9 years ago

Any Mount Gay rum is good, everything they make. The Eclipse can mix with anything. It's the go-to rum, and always on my shelf.

Strowell1 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 7 ratings
Posted almost 9 years ago

A little too rough to be a sipper, works great in all sorts of sweet run concoctions

bill ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 88 ratings
Posted almost 9 years ago

One of the better cheap rums. Wouldn't buy this one again but it is good enough to make me want to try one of the higher end Mount Gay rums.

Marty ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 102 ratings
Posted 9 years ago

This is not anything special. I would not turn away a free drink handed to me, but if I was buying - I would pick something else. Not bad by any means, but not quite great.

Devan ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฟ | 10 ratings
Posted 9 years ago

My overall impression is that in the glass I am presented with a yellow or old gold coloring which strikes against the light very well. A lighter bodied alcohol when swirled and with my inexperienced sences I catch brown sugar, caramel and almost toffee like aromas. There maybe some citrus there, perhaps orange? I found the palate quite difficult to define and it took a couple of tasting sessions to revisit what I was getting. I am satisfied with spiciness, citrus with vanilla and dominant caramel in places. There is a sharpness which I muted with a cube of ice and seemed to enjoy more. With this edge to the rum I mixed with cola and the nuttiness of the cola nut and sweet caramel seemed to enhance the flavours nicely.
Overall, I think this is a complex rum where developed tasters will enjoy more, whereas your less develop palates (like myself) will become baffled and find it easier to select a rum with more obvious characteristics.
Sitting on the shelves for $50NZD is not entirely offensive. This rum was fun trying to figure out. Worth a look.

Gareth ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ผ | 93 ratings
Posted 9 years ago

its a ok rum for mixing and to drink with a coke..

Martin Kennedy ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡บ | 238 ratings
Posted 9 years ago

Used to be my staple rum along with the Appletons V/X , great mixer and pretty good value for money. Too harsh for my palette to drink neat , but very good with both cola and ginger beer.




Brand Details

Type: Gold
Company: Mount Gay
Country: Barbados
ABV: 40%
Name: Eclipse
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Pure blend (1 distillery)
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: Yes

Professional Reviews

1. RumRatings
Loading...