Background Image
Preload image
Mount Gay Eclipse rum

Mount Gay Eclipse

Barbados | Gold | 40% ABV

Mount Gay Eclipse rum is produced from molasses that is double distilled and aged up to 2 years in white Kentucky oak ex bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay is the oldest existing rum brand in the world, with it's oldest surviving deed being from 1703. The company developed the use of traditional double copper pot stills, a process that has been in continuous use by Mount Gay ever since its founding. The company's namesake Sir John Gay Alleyne was a good friend of John Sober who purchased the then Mount Gilboa distilleries in 1747.

6.3/10
467 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
6
13
63
172
162
30
11
6

Rate Mount Gay Eclipse

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

467 Mount Gay Eclipse Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Joel 🇺🇸 | 9 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Mount Gay Eclipse has a rum aroma, with notes of rum as you drink it, with a warm, cherry-like, rum finish. Okay, you can tell I'm new to drinking, but I love rum, and I love this one. I pour it in an espresso cup with an ice cube and drink this delicious adult beverage after dinner. The name makes me giggle too.

Stonge1954 (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 3 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

I’m trying to avoid the ‘sugared’ rums, and this brand is perfect, like Appleton’s. Fine for sipping over ice, or as a base for cocktails.

Paul 🇦🇺 | 146 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

Not tooo bad for a gold coloured rum, cheap n easy to drink, you could do worse

Codogg81 🇺🇸 | 29 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

This is what old time rum from Barbados tastes like. No added sugars or flavors. Just buttery, slightly oakie, banana peel goodness. Solid mixer as it should be.

Zoey 🇺🇸 | 7 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

I still like this one by it's self, but i got bored of it after awhile, taste pretty good in a coke or a daciri. I still like it for the price

Richard B. 🇸🇰 | 31 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Mount gay rum Eclipse je skvelý rum, ktorý sa hodí do miešaných nápojov. Samostatne je piteľný avšak len v obmedzenom objeme.

Fľaša: dizajn fľaše je typický pre barové pulty. Hrubé oblé sklo s typickými znakmi producenta. Fľaša je ozvláštnená embosovaným logom producenta na etikete a popisom produktu na skle fľaše.

Vôňa: vo vôni cítiť štipku vanilky ale aj kože, vône prebíja alkoholová aróma.

Chuť: ostrosť alkoholu trocha prebíja ostatné vône.

Farba: zlatistá

Záver: ide o rum, určený hlavne pre miešané nápoje, mne chutil v dark & stormy a cuba libre. Odporúčam.

Krobbe13 🇸🇪 | 103 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Lite vanilj i doften mild och lättdrucken i värmen.

Ian Storey 🇨🇦 | 21 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

Tasty, light with a sharp aftertaste
Clearly part of the Mount Gay family - the Eclipse is a solid everyday rum choice.

Harsher then the Eclipse Silver and less flavourful then the XO it’s a solid choice for those that like rum

Rhombic 🇪🇸 | 13 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

Golden colour. Vanilla aroma with caramel and some fruitiness, with a prominent alcoholic note. More clearly alcoholic in mouth, in an unbalanced way. The flavours are predominantly oak and banana, with some biscuit-like hints. It starts off quite harsh in terms of the alcohol bite, but after a bit it is not that bad after all. I can imagine it being better when mixed, perhaps. Relatively dry, mild to medium body, borderline sipping rum.

Ricardo 🇨🇭 | 4 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

A few flavours of caramel and vanilla but overshadowed by the alcohol taste. Better to be mixed.

Koozieguy225 🇺🇸 | 6 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Can’t name a better rum to sip on while getting back to basics with a couple homies.




Brand Details

Type: Gold
Company: Mount Gay
Country: Barbados
Name: Eclipse
ABV: 40%
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Pure blend (1 distillery)
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: Yes

Professional Reviews