Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Mount Gay Eclipse rum

Mount Gay Eclipse

Barbados | Gold | 40% ABV

Mount Gay Eclipse rum is produced from molasses that is double distilled and aged up to 2 years in white Kentucky oak ex bourbon barrels.

Mount Gay is the oldest existing rum brand in the world, with it's oldest surviving deed being from 1703. The company developed the use of traditional double copper pot stills, a process that has been in continuous use by Mount Gay ever since its founding. The company's namesake Sir John Gay Alleyne was a good friend of John Sober who purchased the then Mount Gilboa distilleries in 1747.

6.3/10
473 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
7
13
64
174
163
31
11
6

Rate Mount Gay Eclipse

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

473 Mount Gay Eclipse Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Scott πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 34 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Like the Cockspur, easy to pick up, a decent rum for a night of drinking

boogaloodude πŸ‡§πŸ‡ͺ | 11 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

tastes much older than it is , and that's a compliment

Joel πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 9 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Mount Gay Eclipse has a rum aroma, with notes of rum as you drink it, with a warm, cherry-like, rum finish. Okay, you can tell I'm new to drinking, but I love rum, and I love this one. I pour it in an espresso cup with an ice cube and drink this delicious adult beverage after dinner. The name makes me giggle too.

Limsn πŸ‡΅πŸ‡± | 50 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

Decent mixer, not much more to add - solid quality from Mount Gay for a small money.

Hemodypsea πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 20 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Easy to find and a good price for me. Great for drinks especially tiki.

Christophrr29 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 13 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Eclipse is one of the main reasons I love rum as much as I do. It’s certainly the reason I know that I like gold rum the best. I would highly recommend this rum to anybody wanting to try something more than the typical capt morgans/Bacardi.

Florin πŸ‡·πŸ‡΄ | 78 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Acest rom are nevoie sa respire, prima intalnire cu el e cam dura. Se simte ca nu are niciun fel de aditivi ( coloranti, potentiatori) si nici zahar nu are.
in miros se simte alcoolul destul de tare , vanilie si mai e ceva ce nu pot distinge , pare a fi ceva cacao . Aceleasi arome se simt si in gust iar alcoolul e destul de puternic dar devine ok dupa ce ia putin aer.

un rom cinstit avand in vedere pretul , e primul Mount Gay pe care il incerc si m a convins sa incerc si gamele superioare )

LE: acest rom merge cu o boaba de cacao lasata cateva minute in pahar cu romul; astfel romul ia putin aer si de data asta are o aroma indubitabila de cacao )

Kevin πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 25 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

This is not a rum to drink neat, but excellent in cocktails.

Docsarvis (PREMIUM) πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 502 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

This is very drinkable. I much prefer darker rums but this one is solid. Not just a mixer. Even sipping it holds its own. Not complex and a short finish but is has good balance, good bite and is surprisingly smooth. Pleasantly surprised. Another quality rum from Mount Gay.

Ash_Scriv πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 4 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

Not too shabby, not overly tasty but would buy again, solid rum.




Brand Details

Type: Gold
Company: Mount Gay
Country: Barbados
ABV: 40%
Name: Eclipse
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Pure blend (1 distillery)
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: Yes

Professional Reviews

1. RumRatings
Loading...