Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Kaniche Perfeccion rum

Kaniche Perfeccion

Multiple | Aged | 40% ABV

7.8/10
90 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
0
0
0
1
3
11
12
30
27
6

Rate Kaniche Perfeccion

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

90 Kaniche Perfeccion Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

James 🇺🇸 | 19 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

As many have mentioned, this is better than Kaniche XO. The nose is pretty typical of a tropical fruit/honey nose that many others have.

Flavor is Toffee, honey, allspice/cinnamon, maybe a little vanilla or butterscotch. The best part of this rum is its incredible staying power on the palate. The flavors really linger and give the most novice taster enough time to "get it".

Very little alcohol bite, if any.

"Samuel Brunello" 🇺🇸 | 83 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

This is like a deeper, richer, dryer version of the Kaniche XO, which I already thought was a great rum. Everything seems to have been tweaked just a bit in all the right ways leaving you with this absolutely masterful tropical cocktail-in-a-bottle!
Nose- That typical Kaniche core of tropical fruit (pineapple, dried mango), christmas spice and coconut. The usual molasses is replaced with a burnt toffee, giving off a darker vibe that plays nicely with the over all medicinal-ness of the nose. Definitely dryer than other Kaniche's, but still with an underlying sweetness.
Palette- This rum has all kinds of wonderful things that you never thought would go together! Coconut, orange zest, olive brine and aloe, with huge hits of christmas spice and molasses! There is a definite sweetness here, so if you think added sugars are the work of the devil, you may be upset. Then again, if you're that much of a purist, hopefully you can appreciate the rest of the quality in this work of art enough that you can look past that. The flavors all play together seamlessly and then just seem to go on and on, making it difficult to tell where the palette ends and the finish begins!
Finish- All of those great flavors from before slowly morph into even more tropical, rummy goodness, bringing out mango (tommy) peel, more baking spice, and a nice, sweet campfire smoke. The finish then sticks around for minutes, carrying a nice thick texture.
To top it all off, this rum is smooth as, without even a hint of a burn as it goes down. Though that said, it does bring that delightful warming sensation to your entire upper body.
This is just EXCELLENT rum!! I honestly cannot think of a single thing I would change. Thank you, and good on you Maison Ferrand. Good on you.

Mujuru 🇺🇸 | 153 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

Ok this is an odd one for sure. The nose is almost non-existent except for a strong alcohol and pine scent. I was worried this was going to be a major disappointment despite the glowing reviews as the nose is just non-existent....then I took my first sip...and wow! An explosion of flavors hit my palate with the force of hurricane: candy, gingerbread, vanilla, butterscotch, toffee, nutmeg and more - all at gale force. I am still trying to decipher it. It is both powerful and delightful and absolutely not what I expected given the total lack of fragrance/nose on this rum. Actually this may need a little watering down because the flavors are almost too intense, so grab some ice cubes and let it mellow. Still...man...that flavor explosion is like no other rum I have sipped. I like just a touch more subtlety to my rums.

*Update* So coming back to this and having had more experience with it, it is a very good rum, and absolutely superb for mixing, but as a sipping rum it has lost its luster. Maybe it doesn't keep as well as others, or something, but the flavors get muddled. All those flavors I experienced when I opened it started to run together in a way that none of them stick out and thus the experience is monotonous. This doesn't occur with my other rums, except maybe Diplomatico RE so, I have to downgrade the rating on this a bit.

Nose: 4
Palate: 8
Aftertaste: 7
Smoothness: 8
Versatility: 7
Price: 7

Total: 6.8

Rogo-zin 🇺🇸 | 46 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Smooth delicious rum. My experience left me with a pleasant numbing and tingling sensation on my tongue. Low and sustained warmth on the back of the throat as a finish. Very enjoyable! Highly recommend!!

KittieKatt 🇺🇸 | 14 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

For the price point there are sooooo many better options!! Flor De Cana, El Pasador De Oro XO, Don Pancho, and many others.. It is not a terrible rum... just felt more like a $20 rum than a $40 rum... This is a rum we definitely will not replace when it runs out..

RumGuy1 🇺🇸 | 54 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Notes of cinnamon, honey, and vanilla. Beautiful presentation in a wooden box. Taste like Christmas morning. The cinnamon note is very dominant. I wouldnt buy this again.

Earl Elliott 🇨🇦 | 236 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Sugar: est 20 - 22 GPL. Similar to the Kaniche XO, but this version is a little smoother, just a touch less sweet, and the coconut flavour is toned down a bit.
It also has a bit more of the cognac and orange-pineapple-mango flavours in the mixture. Good balance of oak and spice as well. I would rate this one a half point above the Kaniche XO.

Bryan Gehrett 🇺🇸 | 37 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

How did a distillery make a rum this good at this price point? Drinking this rum is like feeling the wee baby Jesus tap-dancing down my throat. I put this up there with Plantation 20 and Zacapa XO.

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 562 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

I wasn't expecting to like this rum as much as I do because of the low price of only $39.99 (Total Wines & More 2017) and because I'm usually not a big fan of bourbon aged rums. However this also has cognac aging, which I find works better with rum than bourbon or just bourbon alone.

Smells and tastes of molasses, spice, cognac, oak, and bourbon. Nicely sweet for a bourbon aged rum.

I like this more than many more expensive rums I've tried. I give it a 9 and highly recommend it for the money! My score does NOT factor in the price.

Rumrun11 (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 125 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Picked up at TW for just under $45. Aroma is weak for sure. But more important is the taste, which is really right up my alley. Not too sweet. Not much burn. Just a bit dry. This is a really good rum. It is not perfect though for me. A little high on the price and I can think of a few rums costing a little less and a little more that are just as good if not just a tiny bit better. I do not regret the purchase though at all.

PapaKielbasa 🇺🇸 | 38 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

I'm always weary of finishing off good rums in cognac casks. It can cover up a sub par expression, with a really good cognac taste.

With that said, I'm not a huge fan. Its very sweet (although it markets itself as dry) and has hints of cinnamon, banana, and barrell, but I can't get over the sweetness and the cognac notes.

If I wanted a brandy, I would've purchased one..




Brand Details

Type: Aged
Company: Kaniche
Country: Multiple
ABV: 40%
Name: Perfeccion
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Unknown
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: No
1. Luxurious Drinks
2. Total Wine
3. Total Wine
Loading...