Captain Cook's Original rum

Captain Cook's Original

United Kingdom | Spiced

4.3/10
26 ratings
Flawed with a glimmer of hope
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
1
5
5
4
1
5

Rate Captain Cook's Original

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image

26 Captain Cook's Original ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Marijke πŸ‡³πŸ‡± | 26 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Niet de originele, maar de Spiced Black ontbreekt in de lijst. Gekocht bij de Lidl in Duitsland, en een best okee, zachte rum voor in de cola.

MerchantofVenice πŸ‡©πŸ‡ͺ | 2 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

bought this at my discounter supermarket for I believe €9, you cannot go wrong with it, in mixers or even neat.

Joola69 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 2925 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

Rum tasting in KΓΆln continued with Captain Cook's Original Smooth & Spiced Rum. Boring bottle and label design. Golden color. Strong unaged alcohol mixed with plenty of vanilla extract and some oakiness to your nose and palate when neat sipped. Strong and dry burn at the end. Awful even when mixed.

Patrick Ruizendaal πŸ‡³πŸ‡± | 5 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

Nice for Cuba libre, golden rum. Also great iced from the freezer. Neat

Ilma πŸ‡±πŸ‡» | 1 rating
Posted 5 months ago

From the Lidl shelf.
This alcohol is a disgrace to the word rum.
Luscious taste. Also not suitable for cocktails.

SurroundedByWhiskeyLovers πŸ‡±πŸ‡Ή | 3 ratings
Posted 6 months ago

Because it is realy hard to drink this until so drunk. Even though it is only 35% smell is like ethyl alcohol diluted with vanilla water to the point it is strongly bitter on a tongue. Leaves aftertaste easily comparable with vodka. Mix it with cola only wastes cola. Would recomend only to the tongueless degenerates with undamaged liver. Why 2 if it is so bad? Well I like vanilla, even if it is concentrated to the level of bitterness.

Mollers01uk πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 8 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

Yet to try this as it was given as a gift. But it looks good and is fairly cheap.

scaifea πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 5 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Very pale rum. Strong vanilla aroma upfront then an alcohol aroma hits you.
The taste follows the aroma, you get an initial vanilla hit then a strong alcohol and mild spice flavour as it lengthens.

I prefer to drink rum neat, but this is better with a good quality cola or ginger ale.

TommyTea πŸ‡©πŸ‡ͺ | 17 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

I found it to taste like vanilla favoured water with a bit of a sharp bitter taste after the swollow....but itΒ΄s not that bad for a discount rum i swear, ive had rums that cost 5 times as much that i wonΒ΄t buy again and this one i would, just not my 1st pick

ACahill πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 5 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Gold in colour, looks like a poor man's Captain Morgans Spiced and somehow tastes worse.

First sip overpowering ethanol, not smooth or spiced at all as described on the label, burn from the poor quality in the aftertaste.

Second sip, moth was used to the initial shock, a swill around the tongue and there was evidence of some spiced flavourings but still just tastes like a poor rum flavoured ethanol drink.

Drowned in Pepsi Max is probably the only way to consume this.

At a few pence over a tenner though, at least it knows it's place.




Brand Details

Name: Original
Company: Captain Cook's
Type: Spiced
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading