Gustoso Aguardiente rum

Gustoso Aguardiente

Mexico | Agricole

6.5/10
9 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
3
1
1

Rate Gustoso Aguardiente

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image

9 Gustoso Aguardiente ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Mark Swenson 🇬🇧 | 32 ratings
Posted 9 months ago

Smooth, but not especially smooth, this rum lacks a robust flavor or intensity.
While it doesn't burn, the rum lacks personality. Very thin.

CSG 🇺🇸 | 39 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

This is my first high ester rum and it’s not like anything I’ve tried before. The funk is very strong, and it also exhibits subtle characteristics of traditional molasses rum, some oak, and some dryer sugar cane style. It was like a party in my mouth with popping complexity, but it went down heavily. Definitely only a sipper, just difficult to have a lot in one sitting, and doesn’t pair well with anything besides itself.

Tikiducks 🇺🇸 | 54 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

Had to have this as a daiquiri. It is very hot doing it neat.

williamsprokkereef 🇳🇱 | 12 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

Gustoso has two rums. One being the white rum, which this rating is about. A nice rum, but unfortunately not so good as the Gustoso rum which is dark and is very close to the Don Papa rum.

Joola69 🇺🇸 | 2982 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

Rum tasting in Amsterdam continued with Gustoso Aguardiente. Nice old school bottle and label design. Light golden color. Strong grassy and floral notes mixed with caramel to your nose and palate when neat sipped. Strong but sweet burn at the end. Unique Rhum Agricole styled Rum hailing from Mexico.

Aaron 🇨🇦 | 69 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Very unbridled flavours here. Spicy notes on the nose and instantly wash the tongue accenting deep banana flavours. Bold, raw taste. Phenomenal flavour. Doesn't try to overdo itself. Love it

Bob 🇺🇸 | 1 rating
Posted 4 years ago

I'm not a rum expert or anything, but I really enjoyed this rum! It mixed so well, that I tried it straight and wasn't disappointed. You won't be either.

Mo McGurk 🇺🇸 | 215 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

First tried it as the Occidental Lounge and was pleasantly surprised. I subsequently purchased a bottle and am still enjoying it. I've tried it on the rocks and mixed, and both work for me.

piratejabez 🇺🇸 | 324 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

This rum hails from Michoacan. Very smooth and easy-drinking (well, it is 40%). A little too smooth, with very familiar rum-caramel flavors. Would have liked some more bite or character, but it’s inoffensive. With time to breathe, the sweetness intensifies and liquid thickens, and beading up on the inside of the glass rather suspiciously after each sip. After awhile it tastes distinctly like toasted marshmallows!

The only information available online leads me to believe this is a rum brand that is more marketing than substance (the bottle boasts that this is "100% distilled cane rum"... which is pretty much the definition of "rum," so... and their website claims that this rum is "a must for serious rum aficionados..." exactly the kind of advice you seek from the brand's website, I'm sure). I’d wager this has been doctored at some point. It’s no Diplomatico (thank goodness), but if sweet’s your thing, this is a reasonable effort, and it will mix or sip without breaking the bank. Just feels like a lot of wasted potential here.

6+, 7-




Brand Details

Name: Aguardiente
Company: Gustoso
Type: Agricole
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading