Posting your rating...
Coloma 8-Year rum

Coloma 8-Year

Colombia | Aged

6.7/10
42 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
14
13
8
3

Rate Coloma 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

42 Coloma 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Lanier from Belgium with 37 ratings

Good taste, but nothing special. Expected "Columbian whiskey". Hard alcohol when you take the first sip.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 139 ratings

I bought when skiing, so never a good time to buy, but I note that it is about €35 in normal places. Bought because the other Columbian rum (La Hechicera) is something I was a great fan of

The "fault". I have a feeling that this has had sugar added and a bit too much. Having said that, I don't mind rums with sugar having been added, although I do like Richard Seale's quest to label any additions (as well as liking his non-sugar added rums).

Can't quite decide whether it should be a 7 or an 8. On balance (until edited!) an 8, even if I feel there has been the addition of sugar. The American oak flavours on the nose and palate are enticing. Hints of vanilla and mocha and the merest hint of chocolate and tropical fruits. A nice burn from the spirit, which leads to a medium length which is dominated by the vanilla and oak.

Would I buy again - absolutely, hence why 8 rather than 7.

EDIT - the bottle has now opened up - a lot. The sweetness is now a little too overpowering and it reminds me a bit of the confected flavours that an Angostura 1919 has both on the nose and palate. TBH I don't mind that sweetness - its easy to drink and serves a purpose when the mood takes it. But it is expensive....far more than the 1919, hence a 6 rather than a 7.

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted 10 months ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) from Sweden with 249 ratings

Had just a sample so this review is just a first impression, but I don’t think I will dig deeper into it.
This rum is produced at an coffee estate in Colombia. After what I’ve read they don’t have any stills at the estate so the rum must have been distilled somewhere else. So what they do at the estate is probably then aging, blending and bottling.
It’s an molasses based rum probably distilled in a continuous column still. It’s also age stated, which means that it’s 8 true years (not Solera).
It’s aged in ex Bourbon American oak barrels and finished in ex coffee liqueur barrels used at the estate in their production of Coloma Coffee Liqueur.
I think the nose is nice with aromas of vanilla and coffee. It’s easy to drink and I recognize vanilla, cinnamon, almonds and some coffee in the palate. The finish got the same flavors and is relatively short.
I think it's a little strange that the coffee taste is not clearer.
Picture: My emptied sample.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 192 ratings

Rhum doux, arôme de orange, café (à peine) et de vanille. Veilli en fut de chêne 8 ans par 2 femmes maître du rhum. Un peu cher, je le recommande tout de même.

Ffffff

Posted 2 days ago by dhelliwell@comcast.net (PREMIUM) from United States with 26 ratings

Smooth enough but there are no layers of flavors and the flavor that is there is just OK. Very short finish.

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 3 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 321 ratings

This is an ok easy to drink rum, not too complex. Better than a basic Bacardi, Castillo Puerto Rican rums but a bit below my rum pay grade. Nothing nothing great would drink if nothing better was available mild sweetness light burn lingering brown sugar molasses undertones.

Small fb img 1623594971342

Posted 4 months ago by Derk from Canada with 8 ratings

This rum started with a bit of sweetness in the nose with a hint of almond. As Colombian rums go, this one wasn't as sweet as I was expecting. The sweetness was there but for me was more subtle. I found the oakiness to be stronger. There were also slight notes of vanilla and almond but not in every sip. A decent sipping rum but I have a bit of a sweet tooth so I like the sweeter rums a bit more.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by marekfiser from Czech Republic with 40 ratings

Just my type of rum - soft with gentle coffee tones (and I normally don't prefer coffee tones!), sweeter, not bittery at all. Kind of the booze that "drinks itself". Very good for long-time sipping. Funnily, it tastes better than its older, more expensive 15y brother to me. All in very cool brandable bottle and packing that makes me forget about corona, put my wandering shoes on and go backpack to Colombian mts.

Small img 20201228 184456

Posted 10 months ago by Anthossandro from France with 19 ratings

Avec des notes de café et de vanille, assez sec, ce rhum reste bien en bouche sans être trop agressif

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 455 ratings

- vůně velmi příjemná nasládlost jemné kávy, Moca, vanilka, dřevo
- chuť nasládlá, jemná, chuť kopíruje vůní, závěr trpčí, kořenitá
Velmi příjemný

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Jagged from Slovakia with 84 ratings

Keďže rum na záver dozrieva v sudoch po kávovom likéry, čakal som výraznú kávovú chuť a vonu. No vôňa bola pomerne slabá po vanilka, káve a čokoláde. Chuť podobná hlavne vanilka a káva. Ak by bola vôňa a chuť výraznejšie zaujal by ma určite viac. Tak je to taký ľahký nadpriemer. Možno starší ročník bude lepší.