Posting your rating...
Coloma 8-Year rum

Coloma 8-Year

Colombia | Aged

6.7/10
46 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
15
17
8
2

Rate Coloma 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

46 Coloma 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 3 months ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 496 ratings

I got to try this rum as part of the Rum Ratings Club tastings, and while it's not bad, I found the spice to be a bit odd. The spice dominated the flavor and made the rum taste a bit artificial to me. I can't place what the spice is, but if I figure it out, I'll update my rating.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 140 ratings

I bought when skiing, so never a good time to buy, but I note that it is about €35 in normal places. Bought because the other Columbian rum (La Hechicera) is something I was a great fan of

The "fault". I have a feeling that this has had sugar added and a bit too much. Having said that, I don't mind rums with sugar having been added, although I do like Richard Seale's quest to label any additions (as well as liking his non-sugar added rums).

Can't quite decide whether it should be a 7 or an 8. On balance (until edited!) an 8, even if I feel there has been the addition of sugar. The American oak flavours on the nose and palate are enticing. Hints of vanilla and mocha and the merest hint of chocolate and tropical fruits. A nice burn from the spirit, which leads to a medium length which is dominated by the vanilla and oak.

Would I buy again - absolutely, hence why 8 rather than 7.

EDIT - the bottle has now opened up - a lot. The sweetness is now a little too overpowering and it reminds me a bit of the confected flavours that an Angostura 1919 has both on the nose and palate. TBH I don't mind that sweetness - its easy to drink and serves a purpose when the mood takes it. But it is expensive....far more than the 1919, hence a 6 rather than a 7.

Posted 1 year ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) from Sweden with 290 ratings

Had just a sample so this review is just a first impression, but I don’t think I will dig deeper into it.
This rum is produced at an coffee estate in Colombia. After what I’ve read they don’t have any stills at the estate so the rum must have been distilled somewhere else. So what they do at the estate is probably then aging, blending and bottling.
It’s an molasses based rum probably distilled in a continuous column still. It’s also age stated, which means that it’s 8 true years (not Solera).
It’s aged in ex Bourbon American oak barrels and finished in ex coffee liqueur barrels used at the estate in their production of Coloma Coffee Liqueur.
I think the nose is nice with aromas of vanilla and coffee. It’s easy to drink and I recognize vanilla, cinnamon, almonds and some coffee in the palate. The finish got the same flavors and is relatively short.
I think it's a little strange that the coffee taste is not clearer.
Picture: My emptied sample.

Posted over 4 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 193 ratings

Rhum doux, arôme de orange, café (à peine) et de vanille. Veilli en fut de chêne 8 ans par 2 femmes maître du rhum. Un peu cher, je le recommande tout de même.

Posted 17 days ago by Jason from United States with 102 ratings

Not bad. Looking forward to trying the others. Vanilla and spices on the nose. Some sweetness from the vanilla, and some bitterness from coffee. Nice complexity. The sweetness on the finish is short lived but the bitterness/dryness from the coffee lingers.

Posted 1 month ago by Wahlman from Sweden with 46 ratings

Helt ok rom, inte den bästa men den var absolut ok att dricka utan cola.

Posted 2 months ago by Anthony C from United States with 161 ratings

Nice rum. Short lived taste, but good. I get light almond and oak, with almost a random finish of coffee acidity. It's tough to fully taste every flavor as it disappears quickly. I can smell.vanilla, but don't taste it. Weird I know.

Posted 3 months ago by dhelliwell@comcast.net (PREMIUM) from United States with 30 ratings

Smooth enough but there are no layers of flavors and the flavor that is there is just OK. Very short finish.

Posted 6 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 346 ratings

This is an ok easy to drink rum, not too complex. Better than a basic Bacardi, Castillo Puerto Rican rums but a bit below my rum pay grade. Nothing nothing great would drink if nothing better was available mild sweetness light burn lingering brown sugar molasses undertones.

Posted 7 months ago by Derk from Canada with 9 ratings

This rum started with a bit of sweetness in the nose with a hint of almond. As Colombian rums go, this one wasn't as sweet as I was expecting. The sweetness was there but for me was more subtle. I found the oakiness to be stronger. There were also slight notes of vanilla and almond but not in every sip. A decent sipping rum but I have a bit of a sweet tooth so I like the sweeter rums a bit more.