7.4/10
49 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
6
12
21
3
5

Rate Bacoo 12-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

49 Bacoo 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Scott spencer ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 33 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Had this straight very good rum
Got for under 30 not overly sweet
Good rum good price.

Earl Elliott ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 213 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

A mysterious new rum from the Dominican Republic. For a new brand on the market this one is my pick for Rookie of the Year. At less than $30 for a bottle it is a bargain. It comes in 5, 8, and 12 Year old versions in a stylish bottle. The version I tried was the 12 Year old and it's very good. Nice blend of vanilla, caramel, oak and traces of spice from aging in bourbon barrels. Sweet and smooth. Estimated sugar is 20 GPL. I found it to be an excellent sipping rum but it didn't last long as friends scooped it up for mixed drinks.
Try it, you won't be disappointed.

JAWS ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 1 rating
Posted 8 months ago

Super Smooth and Super Good. Too good for a mixer.

poosu ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 40 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

My neighbor knows I like rum on the rocks. We stopped over to check out his new motorcycle and I got a taste. Never heard of this one but I was quite pleased. Not quite my favorite taste, but quite smooth. I like it

Beukeboom ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 304 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

There are three Bacoo rums available...the 5-year, the 8-year, and the 12-year. Since I have a bottle of each I am going to review all three today. They have a website (http://bacoorum.com/) which contains the legend of the Bacoo along with various information concerning the company.

As with the 5-year & 8-year Bacoo rums the aroma in the snifter is quite nice. Still a bit sweet with other more noticeable complex aromas which I cannot specifically identify. The amber color is deeper than both the 5-year and 8-year rums. Just as with the 5-year and 8-year swirling it in my snifter reveals good legs.

I was expecting something better than what is delivered with this rum. The extra aging merely reveals the sugaring. It too feels a little oily on the tongue and has distinct butterscotch and vanilla flavors. As with the others is some oak flavor via tannin in the wood barrels. A mild burn in the throat but nothing harsh.

As far as rums go and at $30 a bottle I cannot, in good conscience, recommend this rum. Granted it is not a bad rum but the extra aging exposes the sugaring which detracts from the product quite a bit. For $30 there are many rums that are better.

Jason ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 1 rating
Posted 5 years ago

Picked this up while on vaca in Key West, FL. Bought this one based on the bottle, which I do more often than I should admit (what can I say, i'm a sucker for packaging). 12 year, copper stills, oak aged from the DR though, not exactly shabby. All info garnered from the bottle. Relatively new, not much of an internet presence.

On the nose I was immediately excited. Sweet, but a subtlety that hinted at depth of character. Bright and sweet. Ok, not ready for another Zaya. Tell me there's more.

Initial taste had a slight burn i wasn't quite expecting. Molasses and oak. The foundation. Vanilla. Sweet yes, but not sticky, fruity sweet.

But the finish! It lingers. It builds. I expected less, it gave me more. Like a hidden bit of wasabi on my yellowtail sashimi. A sip left me satisfied for longer than I expected. One sip was satisfying, complete. But of course who would stop there?

I'm going to enjoy drinking this rum.

JAWS ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 1 rating
Posted 2 months ago

Great aroma. Very smooth. Best to sip over ice. Also priced very good.

Rhoffer97 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 58 ratings
Posted 9 months ago

This Run is surprisingly light and a bit sweet I felt, a bit sweet on the nose but very smooth going down. Not much of a lingering afterwards

Cliff ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 5 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

I am giving this rum a 10 because it has a beautiful character and a wonderful flavor and mouthfeel. For an Agricole 12 year old rum at this price you can't beat it (Don't change that! Don't change that!). In addition, the rum is eco friendly and every aspect of Bacoo from growing the cane to bottling the finished product takes place in the Dominican Republic. I love that. Just discovered Bacoo, and it has instantly become my "house rum". Looking forward to trying the others.

Pirate ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 20 ratings
Posted 5 months ago

I ran across Bacoo while on the road, the store did not have a large dark rum selection so decided to give this a try. A pleasant surprise, slightly sweet for a good sipper/after dinner rum. Aroma gives a hint of vanilla and a caramel/toffee scent. The taste, hints of cinnamon, toffee, oak and just the slightest vanilla on the finish. Smooth aged, very little burn ad just the right amount of sweet for those who like a little sweet. I will buy again, especially at this price.

George ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 14 ratings
Posted 8 months ago

Assertive yet smooth. Caribbean accents with Central American personality. Difficult to describe precisely but to this palate itโ€™s a definite keeper. Subtle flavors emergeโ€ฆ cinnamon, clove plus aromas of freshly crushed cane. Itโ€™s a matter of taste and will probably differ from palate to palate but this is an intriguing, multifaceted spirit from a hard to pin down distiller whoโ€™s doing things right.




Brand Details

Name: 12-Year
Company: Bacoo
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 12

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading